We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year Farce!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hare and Hounds

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hare and Hounds
Ranked #168 of 205 York B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Year Farce!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Having read the comments from Andrew J, I too have to agree!
I paid £30 a ticket thinking this was a ticket only affair. On arriving at the pub, I found the ticket only part was a marquee set up with plastic garden furniture, a tiny dancefloor and a 'DJ' with a laptop and no personality! The buffet was served in the dining area of the pub and drinks needed ordering from the pub bar.
I was shocked that my drinks order couldnt be fulfilled. I hadnt asked for anything obscure - vodka and red bull - needed a boost after a day at work! - but no redbull.
The buffet was being used by locals who were eating food at the end of the bar - when I commented on the food a 'local' informed me that he hadnt paid, the payment was just for access to the marquee and dancefloor!
On returning to the buffet I asked if there were any biscuits to go with the chesse selection and was informed 'they'd run out' - the place seemed ill prepared for the event. Lack of mixers and not enough food.
I was told I had to eat my food in the marquee - I wasnt allowed to take the food into the bar - funny that when there was a chap sat with a plate full propping up the bar! So I ate my food sat on a white plastic chair in a marquee with a lack lustre DJ who said nothing but clicked a laptop!
Im not entirely sure what I paid for - one local left the bar entered the kitchen came out with 2 slices of bread from which he made a beef sandwich from the meat on the buffet - all unpaid for of course! At 11.30ish the buffet was removed - Ive never been to a New Years Eve 'do' when food has been cleared away before midnight!!!!!
At midnight, the 'locals' and revellers in the pub were invited to join everyone in the marquee - at this point I am struggling to see what exactly my £30 ticket entitled me too!
Really disappointed. I felt totally duped. I feel if I had been a regular in the pub Id have got it all for free. Not impressed at all.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ELiz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston Upon Hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Where do I start?

My wife and I decided on a New Year celebration and was chuffed to see that we could do this at this particular pub/restaurant. It was our first time of doing this, normally prefering to stay in, but we just fancied a change.

We purchased two tickets at £30.00 each on the assumption that we would be having a ticket only affair on the eve.

On the night it soon became apparent that this clearly was not the case. It at first appeared that anyone could come in, locals and passers by!

I asked a couple of individuals how much they had paid for the evening and was surpised to find that they hadnt paid anything.

We got chatting to several couples who clearly were as irritated as ourselves, but at Midnight the Landlord then invited everyone into the marquee making us even more annoyed. The food was snapped up by the regulars as if their lives depended on it.

So if you fancy a New Years Eve at The Hare and Hounds, enjoy paying when most of the rest get it for free, adore music presented by a man with a laptop and the enthusiasm of an undertaker, then go for it, you'll have a blast!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

I was booked in for bed and breakfast, can't comment on booking in process as someone else did it. The room was warm, clean and comfortable. Standard of tv was poor. The most disappointing thing was the food aspect. I was there on a Monday evening and there was no choice on the menu, just fish and chips. As I left the bar to go to my room I was informed that breakfasts were not served on a Tuesday morning!!! Most inconvenient, the information should have been made clear at the time of booking. A cafe down the road was recommended, but that wasn't what was expected. I wouldn't go back because of the lack of information provided about what was available.

Room Tip: Don't use room 2, the sound quality on the r tv is appalling
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jengill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
229 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

I stayed on a Monday night in Unit one and for the price, the accommodation was fine. The review by M-and H10 describes the premises very well. In particular the choice of real ales was excellent as was the food - fish and chips. However there were some issues that need attention.
1) The web site is good and informative and has a contact form. Why 2 were requests using the contact form ignored making it necessary for me to telephone to make the booking? Do the owners not realise that they are in business and need to work hard to attract customers. I had to stay in the village that night but if there were other inns/hotels in the area that suited my needs, I would have tried elsewhere. A request for a reservation is too valuable to ignore - let alone two enquiries.
2) The food on Monday night was fish and chips - no choice. Why? The web site describes the culinary expertise but all that was on offer that night was a single dish.
3) I wanted B&B but was informed that on Tuesdays the pub does not prepare any food. I was then informed that a cafe in the village serves breakfasts. The charge was for room only so I didn't pay for something I did not consume. The absence of a morning meal was an inconvenience but for a family this could have been a significant problem. Unacceptable!
4) The reinforcing web inside the shower hose in Unit 1 is weak. This causes the hose to kink when trying to shower stopping the water from flowing to the head. Replacing the hose would solve this problem because the reinforcing would remain hard enabling the hose to bend and not kink.
The hotel/units are in a convenient location for York, the Wolds and the East Coast but the owners need to improve the availability of food, response to web based enquiries and provide the level of service one expects from a good quality B&B otherwise the future looks bleak.

Room Tip: Check that food is available in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobbieBStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed at the Hare and Hounds because we were visiting family in the village. The pub has 4 motel type units behind the main building for guest accommodation. These are comfortable and spotlessly clean with a good bathroom and tea making facilities. Parking is right outside the door of each unit. The units are placed such that there is no disturbance from traffic passing through the village.
The owners are very friendly and make you feel welcome. Breakfast is served in the dining room. The menu was comprehensive and of good quality and included the choice of a full English breakfast.
We also ate dinner in the restaurant and we were very pleased with our meal. We enjoyed both the food and the service.
The pub and village are an ideal base for visiting York (Park and Ride available) and the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M-and-H10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York
0.2 mi away
Ye Olde Red Lion
Ye Olde Red Lion
#113 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
4.2 mi away
Robeanne House Bed & Breakfast
Robeanne House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Shiptonthorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
15.0 mi away
Heworth Court Hotel
Heworth Court Hotel
#57 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
16.1 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 3 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
16.5 mi away
Beechwood Close Hotel
Beechwood Close Hotel
#2 of 3 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare and Hounds

Property: The Hare and Hounds
Address: 57 High Street | Holme Upon Spalding Moor, York YO43 4EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hare and Hounds 3*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing