We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yorkshire cream tea very nice”
Review of Mannion And Co

Mannion And Co
Ranked #1 of 46 Coffee & Tea in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our welcoming licensed café and deli has a distinctly European feel. We fuse French and Italian cuisine seamlessly with the best that Yorkshire has to offer.
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Yorkshire cream tea very nice”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

A hot summer day and in need of refreshment and something nice to eat. Mannion and Co has a prime location at the Minster end of Blake Street. Couldn't believe our luck when we found lots of indoor seating. Cool and very pleasant. The scones were very fresh, raspberry jam very nice and the clotted cream! The presentation is very pleasing and we loved the little black teapots. Will definately return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chandrah874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    669
    155
    28
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Cream Tea”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Having only recently returned from Devon, where we had numerous cream teas, it was with some trepidation we ordered a cream tea here. We need not have worried, it is Devon that should be worrying. The scones were delicious and very fresh, and the cream was absolutely divine. Certainly our best cream tea for a long time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank North-Yorkist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Attention to Detail”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We have visited twice so far - once for lunch and once for morning coffee and cake. It was excellent on both occasions. The food is excellent (with a busy open kitchen) but what really makes it for me is the attention to detail - the tea and coffee are of really excellent quality, crockery is really attractive, biscuits with coffee are tasty, etc. The atmosphere is friendly and convivial. Their meringues are really something special!
I only hope it doesn't become so popular that it is impossible to get a table!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrishScurfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favourite place in York”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have been meaning to write a review of Mannion's for ages but kept forgetting and putting it off. In the mean time I've been going back again and again as the menu and the atmosphere is lovely. It is too often we write down only our complaints I find, and we forget to tell people when they're doing something well. So this review is more to say that I think all those at Mannion's do a great job and keep it up. If you are thinking of trying it out, and you like traditional food done well, in a friendly relaxed environment then you will definitely be glad you did. :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobbyD138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Being a Mannion myself I had to visit this place”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

On a first visit to York and looking at places to eat with good trip advisor scores I came across this place we had to visit sharing my own surname. We arrived on Saturday and tried their cream teas. We were served by a lovely young waitress who said they had a spot outside under the umbrella in case it rains due to the popularity and seating being full inside. Lovely courtyard and the scones were warm and were so delicious. The teas served in their distinctive black iron teapots was probably the best tea I have tasted. Just a shame we only experienced their teas on a flying visit but we will be back...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mannion And Co also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mannion And Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing