We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”

Grill Room at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Grill Room at The Grand follows in the great tradition of hotel grill rooms, pioneered by such legendary properties as the Savoy and the Dorchester.Our Grill Room serves a menu of classic European cuisine in a stylish and welcoming setting. With beautiful views of the historic City Wall and York Minster, diners will enjoy the atmosphere as much as the menu.In addition to our extensive menu, The Grill Room also features a cheese trolley well stocked with exquisite choices from around the world, including British classic cheeses. Our portions are well-sized to ensure you feel fully satisfied at the end of your dining experience, and with both lunch and dinner options, you can choose the right dishes to suit your mood at any time of day.Dining in The Grill Room is an unforgettable experience which will delight and satisfy you, setting you up for an evening sight-seeing around York, continuing business discussions or simply retiring to The Grand Bar or Whisky Lounge to continue your evening of pampering!The Grill Room opening times:Lunch: Daily 12.30pm–2.30pmDinner: Daily 6.30pm–10pm
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Me and my partner visited the Cedar court for anniversary, the hotel is beautiful and one of the few hotels iv been to where the hotel actually looks like its pictures and in some cases slightly better. Inside and outside the hotel is really beautiful with high ceilings and original features.The decor also very beautiful.
The hotel stay its self was adequately priced for a 5* however the mini bar etc is a little over priced but expected nothing less from a 5* star. Unfortuantly as we book the day before arrival we didn't get chance to go to the spa so if you want a massage etc i would defiantly book in advance. However we did get to use the spa facilities which were free and that was great!
Unfortuantly we didn't try the food in the hotel expect breakfast which was very nice especially the black pepper sausages! but from that and what other guests said Grillroom sounded like it would be an excellent meal.
The bar is also very pleasant and we tried the cocktails which were exquisite one of the ladies in the bar recommend the almond martini and that was beautiful.
The staff were lovely, also smiling and polite and always willing to help. Any question i asked them they answered without any problem.
The Location is great close to the station and all main sight seeing and shopping. Couldn't really ask for more in terms of location.
So much more could be written about this hotel, my only advice is; if you get the chance to go to this hotel then go you will love it and York is beautiful and a great trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiera R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike t, Manager at Grill Room at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand very soon.

Best Wishes
Michael Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    19
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
190 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“The Grillroom - High class restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We visited the Grillroom for dinner and enjoyed excellent service and a good meal. As expected from a Grillroom, meat dominates the menu however there are some excellent fish and vegetarian choices.

Stand out choices were the salmon three ways. The shellfish bisque came with a very generous portion of lobster and caviare however to this palate the bisque needed more body and flavour.

The fillet on the bone was served a little overcooked (rare requested, it was cooked through!) although the fillet with shallots, foie and egg yolk was cooked spot on. Both steaks were good.

The cheese board was very good, served very knowledgeably. And the Gingerbread was a beautiful, architectural dessert with all but the gingerbread itself superb. We thought the gingerbread was overcooked although the kitchen said not. We saw other dishes coming out with an even, golden brown brioche. Ours was very dark brown on the bottom and unevenly coloured. Having said that we would definitely order it again as overall it was so good.

You do pay for a classy spacious dining room with attentive service and The Grillroom is at the top end of cost (especially for York). At this level the food overall was just a notch of the highest level.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike t, Manager at Grill Room at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your dinner in our award winning Grill Room Restaurant.
I’m glad you thought both the food and service in general was excellent I have also passed on your comments to our Executive Head Chef as feedback in any form is always taken constructively.

On behalf of myself and the Restaurant team, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Michael Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Yes, I know it's 5 star, and in the scheme of things a little expensive but please, if you get the opportunity do try the Ceadar Court. This was a wine tasting/canapes occasion, a sort of diluted corporate event for staff in my office. We were made to feel really welcome, the staff were friendly, the Sommelier knowledgeable and generous with the measures of wine. Even when we'd finished the wines we were encouraged to stay and offered a tour of the hotel. The art deco character is still there with fine original period features intact. This is an old building, but this is not 'shabby chic', but it's beautiful and enchanting; you can easily lose yourself just sitting in the lounge rooms, surround by the low buzz of conversations and laughter. Yes, the bar's expensive but you don't drink there every day - so treat yourself.!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliejames22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike t, Manager at Grill Room at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review following your recent visitto our Restaurant.

I’m glad you enjoyed the experience throughout and its pleasing to hear you found our Sommelier very knowledgeable.

On behalf of myself and the team here at the Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Michael Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb - great food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We ate here recently for my wife's birthday with a couple we are friendly with and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

We all thought the food was outstanding and the service exceptional (attentive without being intrusive). The staff were very knowledgable about the food, the wine and especially the cheeseboard.

This is the place for a special evening out and whilst not the cheapest is worth every penny.

The lamb was one of the best my friend had eaten and the deconstructed Tiramisu was so good that our friend took her time with it as she did not want it to end. My wife's steak was cooked to perfection and my dish was exactly as I asked for it.

Congratulations to the hotel on providing a top class restaurant in the centre of York.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerrdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at Grill Room at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent celebratory meal in our Award Winning Grill Room Restaurant
I’m delighted you enjoyed the experience throughout.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous Wine Tasting Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We recently did one of the wine tasting evenings and a had great night. On arrival it seemd the night would be quite formal, but far from it. We had a four course meal and were given two wines with each course, which were fantastically explained by the wine expert on the evening. If you finished each glass it would be quickly topped up, which meant we ended up consuming a lot! The food itself was lovely. For £55 each we felt it was great value. We met some nice people on the night too. Will definitely be signing up for another in the future!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yorkie_robsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at Grill Room at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent visit to our award winning Grill Room Restaurant for our Sauvignon Blanc Wine Dinner.

I’m delighted you enjoyed the experience and that the cuisine, service and value met your expectations.
You may be interested to know we have 1 more wine dinner this year on the 22nd November discovering Rioja which will explore a famous & historic Rioja House.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill Room at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa also viewed

 
Sutton on the Forest, York
Long Marston, York
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing