We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“I would say GOOD. Friendly staff and good female manager.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn York
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in York
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“I would say GOOD. Friendly staff and good female manager.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Conveniently located for anywhere in York this hotel is pleasant and fits the bill since in a City all we needed was a nice clean room, comfy bed and decent bathroom. We had an upgraded room as we have a member's card and the room was fine. Very clean bedding and towels. Tiny bathroom though which cd be a struggle for anyone large. The sizes probably change depending upon room location. We had a problem with some extremely loud nearby guests who without concern for fellow guests and at 2 in the morning had a blazing 'ding dong' ..really loud argument, it was upsetting and went on for two hours. The manager this morning committed to sorting out the problem and ensured that we were content and settled before we left. She was awfully kind and thoughtful. Given the response from her and her efficiency would not have a problem in returning another time. We have stayed at this hotel many times because of its location.

Room Tip: Discuss ahead what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Lyn M
I was pleased you found the hotel to be in a good location and convenient for the city, and you found your room to be comfortable. I am extremely sorry for the disturbance you encountered with the guests in the adjacent room but I am pleased the manager on duty dealt with this matter efficiently, thank you for viewing this as an isolated incident and it will not deter you from returning to the hotel in the future.
Many thanks
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    468
    300
    94
    37
See reviews for
212
516
21
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

After a busy day spent walking around the city and walls of York we arrived a little hot and weary at this hotel.The reception was friendly and efficient.
On entering the room we were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and appointment of the room.
A shower that actually worked well and a very comfortable bed and pillows made for a great nights sleep.

Room Tip: Have only stayed here once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Ronald S
I was delighted to read your review and so pleased you found your room to be comfortable and you were able to have a great sleep. I hope you enjoyed the walk around the city walls, the walk does give you a good view of the city.
Many thanks
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Not in the centre of York, about 5 minutes drive. Only 6 pounds in a cab into town. Much easier to access by car than in the centre. Big free carpark. Big rooms with comfortable beds. No free Wifi, which was a surprise. The breakfast was 15 pounds, a bit expensive - we went to a cafe instead. Very helpful staff. Overall an excellent hotel. Would stay again if we visit York.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Stuart D
I am so pleased you found the hotel to be comfortable and the location to be good allowing you to leave your car in our free car park for when you went in to the city. From the 1st July our internet became free for all IHG Reward members, this is our free loyalty scheme, once you have signed up which you can do upon arrival at the hotel you will then receive our free standard internet.
Many thanks for your review and I hope you enjoyed your stay in the UK.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
290 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

I am traveling with two teenage boys, we all have computers, so the size of the room and the number of electrical outlets matters. We had a double bed and sofa bed, and we could move them around to set up the inflatable mattress I brought with us so we each have a bed. Enough electrical outlets that we can charge everything. Our room is facing the rear parking so is nice and quiet, on the second floor. There is AC that works very well. The beds are comfortable, there is a 32 inch flat tv. The staff at reception were professional and friendly.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, but I got a latte at the bar, it is Starbucks coffee so nice and strong. I was able to get a bucket of ice at the bar - they don't have an ice machine, that doesn't seem to be a standard thing in England.

The parking is quite large, we didn't have trouble finding a spot, and it is free.

The only negative thing I would say is the wifi, it is very slow. On the plus side, it is free (but only 2 connections/ room), you have to pay to get a faster connection.

Room Tip: Room facing the rear parking was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busymothertoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear busymothertoronto
Many thanks for your review and I am so pleased you along with your sons found the hotel to be comfortable and met all of your needs. I do hope you all enjoyed your visit to the UK.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We arrived on Saturday late morning,fully expecting to drop our bags and make our way to the Races.After our greeting from a very pleasant reception staff member we were unexpectedly told our room was ready.The room was tidy and had all we needed as we were only a one night stay and the majority of Saturday was going to be spent at the Races.The hotel is fantastically placed for the Racecourse and after a relaxing 15 minute walk across the course which actually was very exciting ,we arrived at the course entrance.After the Races we popped back to the hotel for a couple of drinks at the well-stocked bar.Service was good at the bar.Breakfast is available until 11am on a Sunday and it was well presented and the service staff were again very good.A note should be said that the shower in the Room wasn't very good but it eventually did the job !I would say that this is a well located hotel for a visit to York whether thats for the Races or the city itself.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Karl E
I was delighted to read your review and I felt very proud of the level of service your received from our team. I will be sharing your comments with them, these will make a great impact upon their job satisfaction. I am pleased you found the hotel to be in a convenient location for both the races and the city. I hope your day at the races was a successful one.
Many thanks
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during grand depart weekend. Great location for racecourse. Plenty of parking for residents paricularly useful for us as York busy during tour de france. Basicslly as you eould expect from a holiday inn. Thirty minute walk to city centre but plenty of buses pass nearby. I know first buses 4,12 and 13 go into city.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Graham N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Graham N
I am pleased you found the hotel to be in a good location with easy access to the racecourse and the city centre. I hope you enjoyed Le Grand Depart, this was truly a memorable occasion for the city.
Many thanks for reviewing your stay.
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of June and were very happy with our stay. Reception staff were vey helpful, looking up cinema information for us for a rainy evening! Breakfast was plentiful, rooms comfortable and clean, this in conjunction with the location made this a good choice for us. Buses into York are frequent and stops are close to the hotel. Great trip - thanks!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eliazabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Eliazabeth
Many thanks for reviewing your stay, I am pleased you found the hotel to be in a good location with each access to the city and you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable and our team to be helpful with local information.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.1 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#36 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
0.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
3.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Property: Holiday Inn York
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing