We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure”
Review of Holiday Inn York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn York
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I are Holiday Inn Priority Club card holders and can honestly say that the room we were allocated in this hotel was not Holiday Inn standard. It was very poor. The room smelt musty and was in need of some TLC. The bar area was fine and the food in the restaurant was good. The staff were nice and pleasant....however the overall impression of the hotel was that it was 'tired'...no I don't think we will be back

Room Tip: Not sure..my advice book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Keith21
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Holiday Inn York, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals at the hotel and found our team to be friendly. I am extremely sorry for your feeling towards the hotel please be assured it is our priority to deliver a great stay to all of our guests. Should you be returning to York in the near future, I would be delighted if you would allow us to be of service to you again, upon making your reservation please bring your Trip Advisor feedback to our attention and we will ensure you have a great stay.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed the night at the Holiday Inn for with my wife. The location of the hotel was great as Stage 2 of the Tour de France was just a stone throws away.

Friendly staff at reception. Room was nice. No complaints.

Has supper at the bar - the burger was excellent. Very tasty. The steak baguette was really good too!

Also had breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was great. Had all the usual you would expect.

When checking out they gave everyone a yellow tulip (For the TdF) - was a nice touch.

Will def stay here again. Cheap and great location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Greg M
I am so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and you found the hotel team to be friendly and enjoyed the bar food you were served and our breakfast offering. Yorkshire's Grand Depart was a spectacular event and we were all very proud to be involved in the second stage of the Tour de France.
Many thanks for your review.
Douglas Winfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Have not stayed here before this time, but I like the brand and am an IHG card holder. Lovely quiet hotel situated in the Plockton suburb of York, which seems like a nice residential area. Ample free car parking and situated within wLking distance of York race course. Good restaurant and reasonable, if a little limited, bar food.

Rooms exactly what you would expect: clean, secure and reasonable facilities. Buffet breakfast selection very good and all quite freshly cooked, despite being fairly quiet.

All in all, a good hotel, in a nice location for visits to York City or the races and I'm sure I'll be back again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear George R
Delighted to read that you have stayed with us before and you are intending to come back again in the future. Many thanks for your review and I am pleased you enjoy our quiet location but still find us in a convenient position for the city centre.
I look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
With Kind Regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our third visit here, solely because of the location & free parking. Hotel is so tired, our room (419) had the towel rail in the bathroom literally hanging off the wall. Fridge door loose, three tatty tea bags.
The hotel is currently up for sale & it appears that the management have given up. Basic maintenance matters are being ignored.
Staff are un-motivated. When we were checking in, another customer enthusiastically asked the receptionist if the Tour de France would be passing close by. She just shrugged and mumbled 'I think so...dunno'.
Breakfast ok but no eggs, apparently they were 'being cooked', and the much heralded pancake machine was out of order.
On the plus side, it is clean and the free parking is a massive bonus, a 5 minute bus ride into the city & the car can be left for free in the car park.
It's definitely in limbo waiting for a buyer...wont be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loulouham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear loulouham
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you found the hotel to be in a good location with easy access to the city, and the convenience of leaving your car in our free car park was a bonus for you. I am sorry for your feelings towards our team Members, I am most concerned and shocked to learn of your observations as this is not typical of our usual complimentary feedback which our team receives. I would like to assure you despite the changes which are occurring within the company, at the Holiday Inn York it is our absolute priority to deliver a great stay for all of our guests. Please be assured your feedback is being used in a constructive manner.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Everything is very functional and all the rooms both executive and standard are clean and well presented. The room service, restaurant and breakfast are standard Holiday Inn fare but they do it quite well. The staff at Reception and in the bar are very good and this makes this hotel better than the average Holiday Inn. The location near the racecourse is very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Richard B
Great to read your feedback, your comments are very much appreciated and thank you for your compliments towards our team.
with kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We choose this hotel for its location very near York town centre. We were not disappointed. You can leave your car in the hotel parking and the bus No.4 runs every 5 - 6 minutes and brought us into the town centre in no time. The staff at the reception was very helpful, knowledgeable and very friendly. The room was large and very comfortable, and the shower powerful. Food in the restaurant was good. I particularly loved the cheesecake.
We had a great time staying in this hotel while visiting York.

Room Tip: We liked our executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChelmsfordLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear ChelmfsfordLil
I was delighted to read your review and pleased you found the hotel to be in a good location with easy access to the City.
Many thanks
Douglas Winfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is good hotel in the Holiday Inn chain and even the drab 1970's building shouldn't be to much of an "off putter". The hotel is well situated in a quiet residential area bordering the race course. It is about £7/8 in a taxi from the station 15 minutes by bus from the station and about a 30-40 minute walk.

All areas of the hotel were clean and fresh and the reception staff were friendly and efficient, especially as i arrived late after a long day and just wanted to crash! The hotel was busy but quiet and relaxing.

The room was large and very comfortable, if a slightly odd shape while the bed was large and also comfortable. All the bed lined was scrupulously clean and fresh as were the towels. The shower was hot and powerful but the head looked a bit dated. Decent toiletries were provided. Being able to open the window and let the steam out was very welcome.

The room was very comfortable and after a good, if unspectacular, room service curry I had a relaxing and long nights sleep.

I ate breakfast in the restaurant which offered a wide variety of products on a buffet basis. The quality was about what you expect for self service mass catering but was fine. The restaurant itself was clean and well set out. As breakfast was bust service was not as personal as it could have been.

While i has a room overlooking the car park ( there was no noise) the rooms at the back of the hotel must look out over the racecourse. These will offer a nicer view.

Overall a good hotel which was pleasant to visit. it is a little far for my work requirements but I would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear MKNR
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
2.1 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,128 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $76 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing