We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money very clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Holiday Inn York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn York
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in York
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good value for money very clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Close location to York 10 min bus ride to center £7 in taxi. Very clean rooms nice staff good. Breakfast really good. check Web For offers. nice pubs near by to Cross Keys great food and beers. kids welcome. location really spot on.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stuart w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear stuart w
I was pleased to read you found the hotel to be in a good location, clean and comfortable.
Many thanks
Douglas Winfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    502
    307
    99
    37
See reviews for
225
543
23
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We just spent 3 nights Thursday through to Sunday . Our room was a standard double and was clean and tidy. Enough room for our clothes and baggage. Comfortable bed . We were greeted professionally and found our room easily. I was disappointed that wifi was extra cost but is free for all from July of this year. Breakfast was included and is of a good standard. I would visit again and recommend to friends who are visiting the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear David C
Thank you for your review and pleased to read you had a good comfortable stay. Your recommendation to your friends is appreciated.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Checking in was fine as paid upfront or so we thought anyways.

However the lady who had us checked in didn't say much as to what we were paying turns out it was a hold as when I checked out I was asked to pay and enter pin again. I was confused as presumed I had paid as on my bank transactions it showed what was left so that was fine. However I am furious I had to enter pin twice as now that my money is still on hold is ridiculous it doesn't state anywhere that you put a hold on what we originally paid. So off to the bank tomorrow to see what has happened and where the money is situated.

The lady who checked me out reassured me I would not be double charged however it's still concerning you don't train your staff. Being a tourist I would not recommend you due to this fact nobody deserves to have extra money held on their account as this limits things we can do!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HASBJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear HASBJH
I am very sorry for the confusion our credit/debit card procedures have caused you. I would like to clarify, for all guests checking in to the hotel a Credit or Debit card authorisation is taken, this is to guarantee the hotel sufficient funds for when the guest checks out. For guests who have pre-paid their accommodation, they are asked if they would like to authorise their card to allow then to charge incidentals to their room account. I am most concerned that this was not fully explained and I will be reviewing this matter with the Reception Manager. If you would like further clarification or assistance with this matter please do not hesitate to contact Lesley, Reception Manager directly at the hotel.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night d, b&b stay with my mum, 11yr old son and 6yr old daughter. Rooms well used but very clean. Staff very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Children welcomed and staff great with them. On the downside the choice of food on the set menu was not great. We have stayed here many times and this is the first time we have been disappointed with the choice. We could choose from a different menu but at a £2.50 supplement per course. Kids menu OK but would be nice to see some proper food on it like a chicken dinner etc not just pasta, fish fingers. Will most probably return but perhaps not eat there in evening.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank juliebt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear juliebt
I am pleased to read you had a great short break and you found our team to be great with the children and welcoming. Thank you for your feedback regarding our menu’s, we are currently in the process of changing our menus and your feedback is very much appreciated.
Many thanks
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night. Got a good deal on laterooms. free parking at hotel. Got bus into york. Busstop just outside hotel and 5 min ride into town to train station. Breakfast was nice. Room basic but cosy and clean. Would recommend

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank katyb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear katyb1234
Many thanks for your recommendation and I was pleased to read that you were able to take the bus to the City and leave your car in our Free car park.
With Kind Regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We spent 1 night only at the Holiday Inn, my daughter and I in 1 room and my friend and her daughter in another. The reception staff are pleasant and helpful, the rooms were on the ground floor, they were clean and comfortable. I did expect it to be noisy as there was a wedding there that day but happily it was peaceful. The Breakfast is quite standard, it was nice with plenty of choice and the staff made sure that the hot food was filled regularly. The hotel is close to the centre of York and has plenty of parking spaces. I would stay there again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Yvonne G,
Many thanks for your review and recommendation and I am pleased you found the hotel to be peaceful and the wedding did not disturb you.
With Kind Regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chudleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great location,free parking,ten minute buses across the road(£3.70 all day rider on First,travel in,out & around as often as you like!).Two pubs across road for food if required.Hotel breakfast great!

Room Tip: We opted for twin beds as I'm currently over seven months pregnant. These are larger than averag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worthski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Worthski
Thank you for your review and delighted that you had a Great Stay and found the hotel had easy access to the City.
With Kind Regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 45 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Property: Holiday Inn York
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing