We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great price.”
Review of Holiday Inn York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn York
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in York
Chudleigh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Great hotel, great price.”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great location,free parking,ten minute buses across the road(£3.70 all day rider on First,travel in,out & around as often as you like!).Two pubs across road for food if required.Hotel breakfast great!

Room Tip: We opted for twin beds as I'm currently over seven months pregnant. These are larger than averag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worthski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Worthski
Thank you for your review and delighted that you had a Great Stay and found the hotel had easy access to the City.
With Kind Regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    532
    321
    106
    42
See reviews for
245
575
24
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed at this hotel just for the 1 night, was pleasantly surprised after reading some of the reviews on here.
Room was bigger than I thought, bathroom a little small however shower was amazing!
TV was bigger than most hotels also the big window let in lots of light.
Free parking onsite just shame its a little away from the centre of york especially if walking.
Will be going back here if come to York again though.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlishaHalpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear AlishaHalpin
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you had a pleasant stay and found our rooms to have plenty of natural daylight . I hope it will not be too long until we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
With Kind Regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Riding, UK
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Many previous reviewers have commented on the convenient, quiet position of this hotel which although on the outskirts of York has easy access by public transport. However, from the outside its architecture is starkly industrial, softened only by pleasant surroundings. On the ground floor the communal facilities are pleasantly spacious, but the bedrooms are small, and the bathrooms tiny, requiring tactical manoeuvres for usage - see for yourself from the pictures attached. However, our room was clean with very nice linen.
Visitors to the hotel's own website can read of the stellar CV of Head Chef Andy Hunt, listing his experiences in some of the world's classiest restaurants. Whilst realistic enough to realise that a bargain priced DBB booking was not going to uncover a Michelin star experience, we thought that at least Andy might have coloured the bog standard national HI menu. Not so! We were offered only 4 mains of either sausage, chicken, squash or salad. However, the waiter was quick to offer the a la carte menu as a possible mix and match alternative with the usual caveat regarding extra pricing. This provided a perfectly enjoyable meal of meat and fish which could, and should have been on offer from the start. Breakfast was fine - in line with the chain's national offering.
York is a very busy place, congested with people and cars and this hotel is a potentially tranquil outpost offering less expensive accommodation to what is clearly a wide range of different clientele.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Ibadan
Many thanks for your review, please be assured your feedback will be discussed and used in a constructive manner. I am pleased you found the hotel to be in a quiet location with easy access to the City Centre.
With Kind Regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Good spacious rooms here. We walked into York and back again to the hotel, it took us about half an hour and was along a straight road directly into York, on the way you walk past York racing course with good views across. On our last day we jumped into a taxi back to the hotel as it was starting to rain and there is no shelter along the way, but a lovely walk otherwise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Caspence
Thank you for your review and pleased to hear you enjoyed the lovely walk to the City.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed for 2nts at the end of March. The hotel was more than adequate for our needs, we wanted somewhere clean & at a reasonable price. We stayed in the Executive Rooms. There was certainly no "Wow" factor but it had everything we needed. The bed was huge & extremely comfortable. Breakfast was gorgeous and the service really friendly & attentive, the staff in the restaurant are a credit to the hotel. I'd definitely stay here again as it served the purpose we needed it for. If you're looking for something luxurious & with a bit of "wow" factor this isn't the place but if you want a good, clean hotel within easy reach of York this will certainly fit the bill.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Janz01
Thank you for reviewing your stay, glad to hear you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your Holiday Inn Breakfast and found the service to be friendly and attentive.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very clean and fairly comfortable. My only warning is that the beds were moderately hard but if you can live with this it's the pace for you. I was so tired I didn't care. The plumbing worked fine unlike most of the places we stayed in England. Food was fine in their restaurant. I would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rawsco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear rawsco1
Thank you for your review and recommendation, I am pleased you found the hotel to be a nice place to stay while in the UK. I am sorry the mattress was not to your comfort level.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I booked this as a surprise break for my boyfriend. I had never been to York but 2 miles out with a convenient bus route in seemed reasonable. The buses were about every 10 minutes and the fare was between £1.50 and £2 per person each way, depending on what bus company came along first. I booked the dinner, bed and breakfast package for £136. Without dinner the price was £111. Dinner was 3 courses chosen from a set menu. The choice of starter was soup (carrot and coriander on the day of our visit), pate, arincini (breaded risotto balls) or garlic mushrooms. The mains were sausage and mash, hunters chicken, kidney bean and cheese pie, Caesar salad ( maybe another main, can't remember). The desserts were cheesecake, chocolate mousse, sticky toffee pudding (other things I can't remember). We both had the pate, then the chicken and the sausage and mash. The chicken came with with sweet potato wedges and red cabbage with a little red onion and coriander dressing. It was delicious. We were almost too full for pudding but managed a cheesecake and chocolate pot. It was all good. The restaurant was busy but not packed. Breakfast the next day was in the same place. There was a wide choice from the buffet plus eggs cooked to order, and pancakes freshly made at the touch of a button. Our room was a standard room on the first floor at the back of the hotel, but I doubt that traffic noise would have bothered us anyway. The hotel is set back from the road. The room was clean and fresh, the bed was comfortable and the shower was good. We were able to check in early and head straight in to York on Saturday, checkout was 12 on Sunday. All the staff were pleasant, efficient and helpful. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Binkibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Binkibelle
I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and I hope your boyfriend enjoyed his birthday trip to York. Your feedback is very much appreciated.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.5 mi away
Novotel York Centre
1.4 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Property: Holiday Inn York
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing