We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“York trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge York Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge York Central
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“York trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Excellent stay, not my usual Travelodge experience, would recommend. Clean room, good pillows( not my usual Travelodge experience), friendly and helpful staff. Only gripe was poor positioning of mirror in the room which caused my wife problems.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    275
    97
    34
    29
See reviews for
178
377
19
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

I stayed at the Travel lodge after being recommended by a friend. The room was very comfortable and very clean. There was also a good discount on the car park that was recommended by Travel lodge. The car park was very secure and only a few minutes walk away. The Lodge was also only a few minutes walk into the city centre. If I go back to York, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Di_MooEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed two nights in August, having booked in advance we got a bargain rate. Great location for City Center. We stayed on level 3. Room was spacious and clean but VERY noisy and Uncomfortably warm. The bar down below wasn't an issue ( we stayed Sunday - Tues) it was just the constant noise of the road, some kind of boiler rattling all night and next door.
Staff where very friendly and helpful, and discounted secure car park was a 10 min walk away.
The Wetherspoons next door, was perfectly adequate for breakfast and a nightcap before bed.
Don't expect luxury it is a budget hotel afterall.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Babwshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

As the title says, £117 for a very basic room, that I would expect to pay no more than 60-70.

Locations was good, room was clean, a little noisy from the pub just below.

Staff were good, location is good.

Worth a visit if you get a decent ptice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed here just for 1 night and thought location was great and easy walk into the city centre and all the attractions. Check in was very good and pleasant and the young lady's name was Faye who told us everything we needed to know and the service was with a smile.
Rooms are as standard Travelodge but they have been re-furbished and the standards were good and all you need is a good nights sleep and a clean room and we had both so would recommend this hotel for a short break.
Wetherspoons next door if you want food close by but lots of choice in York itself.
We had a room on 3rd floor and no noise up there even with window open so would ask for this floor again in future

Room Tip: Ask for top floor (3rd floor) for a nice quiet stay, we faced front of hotel and main road but still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Have stayed here several times and had to complain about the cleanliness and standard of the rooms on a couple of occasions but they have been refurbished and what a difference this has made. Not everything is new but what has been done makes for a much more pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristeena1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed there with a number of my friends. Had stayed the previous year, and the rooms seemed to have been refurbished to a better standard this time around (was looking a bit shoddy previously). It's what you'd expect from a budget hotel to be honest, but there are two things that this has going for it. Firstly, location - you can be up in the main city centre with all York has to offer within a few minutes walking. The other is that like many others, there's a pub right next door which is handy for a decent breakfast or snack. Great base to explore York.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#32 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.7 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge York Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central

Property: Travelodge York Central
Address: 90 Piccadilly, York YO1 9NX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge York Central 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge York Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Hotel York
Central Travelodge York
Travel Lodge York
York Travel Lodge
York Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing