We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different Outlook”

Scoot Cycling Holidays Ltd.
Ranked #8 of 22 Outdoor Activities in York
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to SCOOT CYCLING HOLIDAYS. We are passionate about offering you the best UK cycling holiday experience, in the most beautiful part of England, in Yorkshire’s fabulous countryside. A self-guided Yorkshire cycling holiday is a great way to discover a very special part of the UK. We help you get the most out of your biking holiday. We don’t charge extra for bike or equipment hire, and the tours we have planned are all graded so you can be confident that you will be able to choose the cycling holiday/vacation that most matches your experience and interests. We also offer Sightseeing city tours of York. These 2 hour tours provide a great introduction to the city are are informative and fun. York is a great cycling friendly city, and the route we take gives you the best of the attractions as well as the nicest routes to cycle!
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Different Outlook”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of Anne's company when she took us around on a York tour. We have been to York on numerous occasions but I have to say we are now more informed about the history York due to Anne's informed commentary. The ride itself was an easy pace on flat ground and will state it was the best £30 we have spent on a tour. Beats any bus tour and would highly recommend it to anyone of any age as long as they can ride a bike !!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cai M, Manager at Scoot Cycling Holidays Ltd., responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thanks for your feedback about this cycle tour of York. Cycling is a great way to the city. We have some great guides and it really is excellent value for money. So glad you both enjoyed it. Hope you had a super time in York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We married in Portugal and a few weeks lated moved to York where I studied at the university for a year. We had 2 bicycles and moved in town always with them. We went to a lot of places in York at the time, but surprisingly the Scoot Cycling Tour we did in March 2014 took us and our children to a lot of places we had not been before! Our guide Cai was fantastic and took us to dozens of unexpected sites around and inside the city centre. We recommend everyone to visit York on bicycle. M.Correia

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miguel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cai M, Owner at Scoot Cycling Holidays Ltd., responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thanks Teresa. It was great to meet you and show you the parts of York you hadn't explored before. I enjoy showing our guests a bit of the flavour of York, scratching at the surface of its deep history. It was lovely to meet the two of you and the boys and get some good British sunshine thrown in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect way to tour around York”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

- knowledgeable guide with interesting facts and stories
- covers major sights leisurely
- excellent bike condition
- best to take the bike tour in the beginning of your trip to get a sense of direction, and then explore your sights of interest on foot afterwards

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lukmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cai M, Manager at Scoot Cycling Holidays Ltd., responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. It's great to hear that you had a super time and that you appreciated our good bikes. Hope next time you come to York you have the chance to stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Had a three hour with Anne. She was very informative and able to adapt the tour to avoid flooded parts of the city. A lovely lady!
The bikes are very well maintained and comfortable.
The majority of riding occurred on side streets or paths. We had to do a bit of riding on busy roads, but this was largely because the usual route was flooded.
Highly recommend! A great way to seek York.

Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cai M, Manager at Scoot Cycling Holidays Ltd., responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Great to hear that you enjoyed Scoot's guided tour of York on a bike. For January you had a really good day and it was a great decision to book our tour + hire offer for the day. The water level is down now and luckily York hasn't suffered like much of the country has. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Getting around York”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Went to York for a short break and cycling seemed to be the best way to see around the city as the streets are quite congested. Our guide was very good and the only negative was the size of bike for my youngest daughter which was a bit too small considering we had to complete a form to give height and wheel size of her own bike. Otherwise I would recommend trying this out if you are thinking of going to York.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mowbray2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cai M, Manager at Scoot Cycling Holidays Ltd., responded to this review, November 21, 2013
We were very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed our cycle tour of York and we're only sorry that the bike we brought for your youngest child wasn't quite big enough. The bikes we provided were the sizes requested and were put on the booking form.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scoot Cycling Holidays Ltd. also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scoot Cycling Holidays Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing