We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Proper Chinese: great Dim sum.”
Review of Maxis Restaurant

Maxis Restaurant
Ranked #258 of 870 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle
Level Contributor
141 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Proper Chinese: great Dim sum.”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Been twice over the holiday period. Once on my own, had beef and ginger dumplings from the dim sum menu followed by Kwai dil: spicy flat noodles. Was so impressed went back with three others for a big dim sum session. Crab and pork dumplings were delicious, we also had crispy fried squid, won ton, pork buns, fish ball soup, the beef and ginger dumplings and satay whelks.Spring rolls were a revelation: a boring staple elevated to a crisp light delicious delight. The only thing we didn't like was spare ribs, they were very fatty. In fairness I believe this is Chinese taste, many of the dim sum are things like pig intestines and the like. This is authentic stuff. the dim sum menu helpfully has pictures which are a great help when choosing. We had a couple of beers each and the bill was fifteen pounds a head. Great value.
A lot of reviews criticize the service. We found it polite friendly and efficient.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    69
    27
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!!! (just a bit expensive for takeaway)”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Wonderful food!
Best Chinese in York by a long way!
Prawn toast
Lemon chicken
Sweet & Sour Pork
Special fried rice. All delicious: beautifully cooked. Tasty and satisfying
Bit pricey though at £30
Will still be going back though!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlesLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun evening for an 18th”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We were a party of 9 for my daughters 18th and Maxis was perfect. Fun decor, big tables, efficient service and tasty food. Easy ordering via the banquet options also made the evening more fun. Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juze95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“I never learn”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Have gone right off Chinese food due to the poor quality chicken they use in most of their dishes. Went to Maxis in the hope of a tasty treat . So disappointed to be served the same rubbery chicken again.Seems it is not just a Scottish practice......

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 24lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic in places!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Called here for Dim Sum. Please Please Please will someone from this restaurant read these reviews!!! food is great the staff are NAFF! (apart from one lovely waitress). The older guy that took our order tutted when we hesitated with our order. The food is good with good portions but I will not return due lack lustre staff. The food was authentic not your usual English / Chinese food.

This website will only allow me to mark this restaurant as terrible .... very strange

  • Visited December 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HonestWag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxis Restaurant also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Maxis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing