We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Indifferent to the point of Rudeness!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maxis Restaurant

Maxis Restaurant
Ranked #261 of 850 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Indifferent to the point of Rudeness!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our bottoms hadn't even hit the chairs when the sullen waiter asked if we were ready to order - I guess it beats waiting to be served for half an hour but you felt they just wanted you to eat pay and get out. This being a Monday night and a near empty restaurant. Service was nothing if not prompt but no exchange with the customer what so ever no explantion of the menu, food thrown on the table in conveyor belt style no breather between courses no smiles no checking if all was Ok. We tried to get staff attention to ask for more plum sauce but three of too busy relaying and washing down tables to notice our waving and excuse me's. The Banquet was avarage chinese fayre though I would stay away from the pancake rolls they are filled with some strange concoction none of us could fathom awful tasting so we left them well alone. Will not be going back ever again - at least a takeaway at home you might get a smile, eye contact and a chat.This place must rely on the Disco nights to pay it's way. There are excellent places like not too far away with delicious food and excellent customer service why would you choose to eat at Maxis.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lidia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    65
    27
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What happened to the term service???”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Dined here two nights ago, place was 2/3 empty. Food (salt &pepper prawn, chicken sweetcorn soup, lemon chicken, duck plumb sauce) was tasty and decent enough. As for the service the term does not seem to have a great deal of relevance at Maxi's. Among the worst I've seen in 25 years of dining around the world. Total lack of interest in the customer, unforgivable in light of how quiet it was, maybe why!!! Only took 45 minutes to bring the dessert menu (then when asked for at the bar!) good job in such excellent company. However ask for the bill and they make Usain Bolt look slow out the blocks.

A place to avoid where there is so much better on offer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Yorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
146 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Chop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have been going to Maxi's for many years. Yes it is large and the service can be a little impersonal but the food is good and not over expensive and the portions are more than adequate.
I do not understand the mixed bag of previous reviews where there were criticisms! I am very choosy about Chinese food indeed and recommend it without reservation. Most Chinese restaurants in Yorkshire do not have a Dim Sum menu and their's is large and very enjoyable - Cheung Fun to be tried in 4 varieties!
We will definitely go again - yes Red Chilli is in a different league in both York and Leeds but you do not have the same access and ease of parking!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PJFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Service and food not what it was.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have been eating at this restaurant since it opened about 20 yrs ago but only just got round to a review. The food and service used to be excellent but we have noticed on our last 2/3 visits that things are not what they were. There has been a change of management and staff and it shows. It seems to be geared to large parties/hen do's etc rather than couples and families, don't think we will be rushing back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doeplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have been here a few times over the years and was looking forward to enjoying a Chinese lunch this time round , and we were wrong , this place ... What has happened ? Service was very poor, slow, unfriendly staff, the food was not good, definitely not coming back ever

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frequenttravels3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxis Restaurant also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Maxis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing