We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So right for our wedding day we didn't even look at anyone else.”
Review of Grays Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grays Court Hotel
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
York, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So right for our wedding day we didn't even look at anyone else.”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We spent our wedding day in the beautiful surroundings of Grays Court and in the safe hands of Katharine and her amazing team.
Set back in a quiet corner of Yorks inner walls and tucked away from the bustle of the tourist foot fall, this is the perfect romantic setting for anyones special day.
From the very moment we made contact it was clear that the planning and organisation was second to none. The food served was of the highest quality, fresh and local to the area. The serving staff were highly professional and left us feeling relaxed and cared for.
As a customer of the tea rooms on a normal day I had no doubt this was a fantastic and more importantly the right place to unwind, relax and enjoy the day.
The cost of the day was very very competitive with any local establishment offering the same level of service.
Without hesitation I would recommend Grays Court to anyone, from a quiet cream tea to a wedding break I have always left feeling like i'm the only customer that mattered while visiting.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaz-Thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    53
    26
    14
    8
See reviews for
66
211
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We did not stay overnight but a Family Wedding brought us to Grays Court and we found it a Wonderful Venue. The setting in the shadows on York Minster was beautiful, the Staff were most attentive and the FOOD at the Reception was out of this world. The organisation must have been excellent because the whole day went very smoothly and most happily. What more could you ask?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank ToothyPegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Perfect location, an absolutely wonderful building, very comfy beds (I'm only 6ft though...) and lovely helpful staff. Not quite perfect yet but we really enjoyed our stay here. You could definitely do worse! Oh and I do believe three Kings of England have stayed there in it's time... The place oozes history

Room Tip: I think our room name was Azelby
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We are regular visitors to York but for our first anniversary we decided to spash out at the recently opened Gray's Court. The location is perfect close to the Minster and the building is historic.
Our bedroom was a good size but lacked finishing touches, we looked at bare walls, and the 4 poster bed had neither curtains or canopy so we lay in bed looking up at a curtain poll with rings but no curtains and bare wood sides which looked as though it should hold a canopy.
Similarly the dining room appeared unfinished, no window dressings, nothing on the walls and a mishmash of dining furniture, some of the chair seating being threadbare. At breakfast I asked for poached eggs and porridge neither of which they did. Service was also an issue.
It is advertised as being furnished with antiques, but most were poor quality second hand furniture.
The final insult was that when we returned home we noticed on the website an offer of 10% reduction for stays of 2 nights or more. I emailed to request a refund, but was told the offer did not apply at the time we booked.
Overall, very disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Oakfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

this is an honest review,the actual place itself is fabulous, everyone very welcoming, shown to the williams room,very clean and tidy cannot fault the bathroom (no bath in this suite) then thought the room was perfect until i went to bed and my feet pressed against the bottom foot board, hardly slept a wink first night, im 6ft 1, it was too small, so that was a great start to a relaxing break,then to find out there is an additional car park charge of £15 per night on top of an already over priced room was a shock,i suppose your paying for the excellent location, breakfast was adequate but no better than anywhere else, and if you walk in off the street its £15 which is way too much, in summery a great place to stay if you,ve deep pockets and under 6ft tall

Room Tip: if your over 6ft avoid the williams room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ziggy1Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We spent two nights at Grays Court at the end of January, as a treat away from the little ones for a romantic weekend away and spent ages researching which hotel to stay in, as there is so much choice in York. We are so delighted we chose Grays Court, it was the most wonderful place to stay, beautifully renovated and decorated, oozing character and with history oozing from every pore of the building! Received an amazing warm welcome from the manager and the owner, Helen, and simply couldn't recommend the place enough. Literally a 30 second walk round the corner to the foot of the Minster, the quiet location is also unsurpassed and definitely no car required. Wonderful and will definitely return if we are lucky enough to get away again!

Room Tip: Azlackby has a double aspect and an oblique view of the Minster. Very spacious too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britgalgoesout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Grays Court is perfectly located for exploring York as it is only a few minutes walk from the Shambles. Not only is it a beautiful and historic building situated between the Minster and the city walls it is very comfortable too. We stayed in the 'Williams' room and it was perfect. The atmosphere was informal and friendly and the staff attentive and helpful.
The courtyard and gardens are lovely and we will definitely stay again when visiting this beautiful city.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank croggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,252 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
2.3 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grays Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grays Court Hotel

Property: Grays Court Hotel
Address: Chapter House St, York YO1 7JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grays Court Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1080, and nestled in the heart of the exclusive Minster Quarter, Grays Court is truly a hidden gem. Luxurious accommodation in a historic house your visit will be unforgetable. Quiet and secluded in almost an acre of grounds, we are a few short minutes from the bustle of the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grays Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing