We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Emperors Wharf

York Minster & River View from Lounge Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
York Minster & River View from Lounge Balcony
Lounge Private Covered Balcony with River & Clifford's Tower View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
York Minster & River View from Lounge Balcony
Lounge
Private Covered Balcony with River & Clifford's Tower View
Lounge
Lounge with Dining Area
Dining Area
Lounge
Master Bedroom with King Size Bed & Ensuite Shower Room
Master Bedroom with King Size Bed & Ensuite Shower Room
King Size Bed Master Bedroom
King Size Bed Master Bedroom
Master Ensuite Shower Room with Heated Flooring
Twin Bedroom with River Views
Twin Bedroom with River Views
House Bathroom with shower
Kitchen
Entrance Hallway
Hall
Private Covered Balcony with River & Clifford's Tower View
Private Covered Balcony with River & Clifford's Tower View
View from Balcony towards York Minster
View of River and Cliffords Tower from Balcony
Stunning River Views from Balcony
River views from the Balcony
River Views from Balcony
The Apartment Block
You could be here!
Riverside Location in the Heart of York City
Entrance to Emperors Wharf
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Viktor R
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Stunning”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

This place is great! I was greeted by Sean and he was extremely helpful and let us in the apartment and gave us a quick tour, and also told us about the surrounding area.
Beacuse of the central location it's very easy to get around the city, the view was amazing and everything was very clean and fresh. it was also easy to find the apartment on arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the weather
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 13, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfy bed for a great nights sleep
Liked least: Main bedroom overlooked by offices
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mgaud
Estevan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location for visiting York.”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed over Christmas to New Years to visit our daughter who goes to University here. It was a great location to check out all the sights of York. The apartment is very well appointed, with everything a family would need to prepare meals. We shopped at the local marks and spencer and the even closer Tesco. York has so many wonderful restaurants - you may not want to cook. We had an experience with flooding - but this is certainly not the fault of the owners. The one negative would be the laundry - we didn't understand how it worked and the book in the apartment isn't the correct one for the washer/dryer combo... Had a few fits and starts but we finally figured it out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Laundry and the flood
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSOZ
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything you could want and a great location”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

This apartment was the perfect base for 4 days in York with 2 children (7 & 11). It is spacious, has modern appliances (the knob on the washing machines was the only fault in the whole apartment), great WiFi and TV options, 2 bathrooms, lovely kitchen, including coffee machine, comfy beds and a superb view of the river, Cliffords Tower and the peaks of the Minster. Add to that that the historical parts of York and all the restaurants and shops are 5-10 minutes walk (and a supermarket just 5 minutes) it is hard to fault this apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and location to everything
Liked least: Button on the washing machine and 1 drippy tap only flaws
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Reviewed October 7, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 24, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home comfort
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KMP56
Ann Arbor, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exactly what we expected”
Reviewed July 16, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

My husband and I traveled with my sister and brother in law from Michigan. We were looking for a place that had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and was conveniently located. I had done a lot of research, and this apartment seemed ideal. I was looking for accommodations that had a little more personality than a chain hotel. I have to admit to being somewhat nervous dealing with a privately owned property, but in the end, I had nothing to fear. Chris, the owner, was responsive and answered all of my questions in a timely manner.

When we arrived, we were delighted to find that it looked exactly as it had on the website. There was also a washer/dryer in the kitchen, and that was a welcome bonus since we were midway through our two week trip to the UK. The location could not have been better. We could easily walk to everything we wanted to see.

The apartment is situated on the River Ouse, and I loved the view when we first arrived. There we boats going back and forth, and there was a pleasant level of activity without being too noisy. However, it had been raining a great deal, and the river quickly began to rise. This is apparently not uncommon. Within a day, the river had flooded the surrounding areas, causing us some concern because our car was parked under the building. We asked a tenant if we should move our car, and he said no, because it is a fairly new apartment block, and the garage area is sealed for the most part. While the garage next door was completely flooded, ours was dry. It would have been helpful if there was some information in the apartment regarding this issue, and when people renting the place should be concerned about the flooding.

Otherwise, our stay in York was wonderful, and I would not hesitate to call Chris and rent his apartment again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There were no surprises in the apartment itself
Liked least: Lack of information about flooding and street closing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing