We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious and clean, perfect for large groups...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Holiday Home York

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
carla f
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious and clean, perfect for large groups- close to city centre”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I rented this property for my sister's hen do. All the girls commented on how good the house was. The kitchen was perfect for all gathering around for a takeaway and breakfasts. The house was clean and tidy- all the facilities you need. It had Wi-Fi and heating was easy to use. The place to pick up the keys was literally down the road at the local pub. The booking was easy and I always had a quick response to emails.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of the house
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
740rebecc...
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely House, excellent facilities and a stone's throw from York centre”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I stayed here in August with 9 friends, so we were a large group, but the house was more than spacious enough to accomodate us. The house was spotless on arrival and the facilities in the kitchen and bathrooms were excellent. There is a nice garden if you get the weather to be able to sit out, we didn't unfortunately! All in all a great holiday rental that I would highly recommend to groups of friends and families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelfra
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal perfect base for York!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Just back from a family get together in York. There were 10 of us (2 under 2's up to age 60+) staying in this house and it was perfect. Big family house with plenty of room, you don't feel under each others feet at all. About a 10 minute walk to the castle walls which suited us perfectly. Owners at the pub (5 min walk away where you park cars) were very friendly and helpful.
House could do with a little maintenance - bunk beds aren't the strongest for adults but we made do by sleeping on the floor, grass cutting (which was offered but weather not ideal so fine) etc but nothing major at all. Free wi-fi big bonus and freeview tv.
Overall a great house to stay in would definitely go again.

Location
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great base for lots of adults”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned from staying here on my hen party in York. Ten of us girls stayed at the house, with lots of room as long as you don't mind sharing double beds! There could have been room for a couple more girls if needs be. The house was extremely well equipped, with plenty of towels, bedding and extra pillows! Also a nice touch to have some sugar, tea and coffee and also things such as toilet rolls.. A perfect location for York- a ten minute walk in to town.
Wild definately recommend to others - THANKYOU Agnes and Michael - especially for the late check out on the Sunday morning!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A lovely house that a large group of girls could share with ease.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph M
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots of space, great location”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We went to York as a group of 10 to celebrate a birthday. The house was perfect, there was enough space and it was great to be able to sit around and catch up over the course of the weekend which is more difficult in a hotel with all seperate rooms. There is plenty to do in the house if you have children, lots of games and books a dvd recorder and some outside toys. Plenty of necessities were already there which was great, e.g. towels, tea, coffee, sugar, toliet roll etc so we didnt need to worry. The walk to town was not far which made coming home after a night out very easy. It was easy for everyone to find, parking isnt great at the house ( only a small drive but we couldn't fit any of the cars on as the street is narrow so no room ro reverse in) but it wasnt a problem to park at the Burton Stone Inn and the staff there were very helpful. Overall this was the perfect spot for the weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The parking
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dun08
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect central location”
Reviewed July 10, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here with my family - four of us and the dog. Very close to the town centre yet in a quiet location. Comfortable and homely. Owner friendly and chatty. We will certainly check on the availability of this place before anywhere else next time we go to York.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to town centre
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol B
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great location with all needed for a great time away”
Reviewed March 1, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Myself and six friends go away each year for a long weekend. We decided on York and required somewhere near the centre with all the home from home amenities. We arrived early on the Friday and were looked after and helped with our luggage. The house was clean and suited our needs just fine, we are a group of girls that don't like to rough it! I would recommend this accommodation and location to groups of friends or families as a great base to explore York.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The central location to York
Liked least: Could do with an update
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$226
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing