We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central for everything!”
Review of Exhibition Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Exhibition Hotel
Ranked #111 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Central for everything!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We always stay here when visiting York because of its location, atmosphere, food and the lovely staff. It is only a five minute walk to York Minster and all the shops and attractions. The rooms overlooking the lovely beer garden at the rear of the pub are the quietest as the hotel itself is on a main road. Reasonably priced too.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear overlooking the beer garden are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    22
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
10
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Compact but clean and well decorated rooms above a lovely pub. Spacious bathroom. Comfy beds and everything you need for a few nights in York. Location is great - just minutes from the main attractions and station. The pub itself has a great atmosphere and gorgeous beer garden. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I'm so pleased I chose The Exhibition over one of the soulless chain hotels - 10 times better and still within budget. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed in this hotel (room above the pub) for my birthday with the hubby in June this year. We were just looking for a comfy bed which was not too pricey and this place fit the bill. The building is 200 years old so yes it has its problems like crack in the walls and decor which could do with a touch up but overall it was a lovely place to stay. Perfect location righ next to the city wall and 5 min stroll to the town centre & museum gardens. Fabulous breakfast, lovely staff, clean, perfect place for us and we will stay again.

Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

While staying in York this last weekend we past this pub back to our hotel and called in on the Saturday night,we had a few drinks in the beer garden and it was a lovely big garden with lots of furniture and pots of plants all around we realy enjoyed a couple of hours there so much so that we went again on the Sunday.There is a lovely conservatory on the back aswell for dinning in.I would consider staying here if we stay overnight in York again..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy_fisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Exhibition is well-located in the centre of York, and a great pub for both food and drinks. The staff are lovely, really friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere is always friendly and relaxed. The inside of the pub is comfortable, with lots of squashy sofas and memorabilia on the walls - and a lovely fire in winter! The beer garden is especially wonderful, a lovely place to relax when the sun comes out. The food is great too - good quality, and generously-sized portions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrswildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
730 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Did not break the bank for a fine roast dinner for 2 with a superb gran reserva rioja 2002. Lovely friendly pub regulars and good service by staff. Generous portions, well prepared & Would recommend for value & quality when in YORK.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We didn't stay in the hotel but called in for a meal one evening during a recent short stay in York, and would really just like to "echo" a couple of the other reviews about the food and the 'atmosphere' in the pub. Certainly a friendly and attractive bar - and a warm one with the log fire to greet us on what was another of those cold nights! The food was really well cooked and presented, tasty, good portions - and reasonably priced too. Judging by the reactions of some other people in the pub that evening, we weren't the only ones to be impressed either!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#136 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gillygate
The Gillygate
#42 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bootham Tavern
Bootham Tavern
#120 of 193 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trembling Madness Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Georgian House
The Georgian House
#88 of 193 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.2 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#12 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exhibition Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exhibition Hotel

Property: Exhibition Hotel
Address: 19 Bootham, York YO30 7BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing