We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub, wonderful food and beer garden”
Review of Exhibition Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Exhibition Hotel
Ranked #114 of 192 York B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great pub, wonderful food and beer garden”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Exhibition is well-located in the centre of York, and a great pub for both food and drinks. The staff are lovely, really friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere is always friendly and relaxed. The inside of the pub is comfortable, with lots of squashy sofas and memorabilia on the walls - and a lovely fire in winter! The beer garden is especially wonderful, a lovely place to relax when the sun comes out. The food is great too - good quality, and generously-sized portions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrswildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    23
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
11
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level 6 Contributor
815 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Did not break the bank for a fine roast dinner for 2 with a superb gran reserva rioja 2002. Lovely friendly pub regulars and good service by staff. Generous portions, well prepared & Would recommend for value & quality when in YORK.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We didn't stay in the hotel but called in for a meal one evening during a recent short stay in York, and would really just like to "echo" a couple of the other reviews about the food and the 'atmosphere' in the pub. Certainly a friendly and attractive bar - and a warm one with the log fire to greet us on what was another of those cold nights! The food was really well cooked and presented, tasty, good portions - and reasonably priced too. Judging by the reactions of some other people in the pub that evening, we weren't the only ones to be impressed either!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for a night with my girlfriend after spotting it as we drove into the city. Cosy and nicely-decorated traditional pub with a few rooms upstairs for a reasonable price. The room was small but had the basics and was clean. Main problem was noise from street just outside, one of the main roads into city and right at a junction with traffic lights so lots of cars and buses sitting outside almost constantly, which made it a bit difficult to get peaceful sleep.

Food in the bar is pretty decent and good range of drinks, with the open fire providing a nice bit of warmth.

The Hotel is well-located for the Minster and the city and was a decent enough choice for the price and for one night's stay, but I couldn't stay in any of the front rooms for long due to the traffic noise. Not much they can do about it though unless they got some double-glazing in which I'm not sure is practical on a Georgian building!

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lemec79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is one of the most attractive, friendly and warm pubs you will ever come across. Good pub grub, excellent well kept beer served by the friendliest bar staff in an atmosphere of old gas lamps, interesting pictures and a warm fire. My Wife and I love the place I'm sure you will too...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thosthetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at another hotel just up the road but came for tea on the 5th march 2013 hats off to the chef we went for curry night OMG best i have ever tasted , so good we went back the next night my husband had the burger and i had the roast beef both gorgeous but enough for four people... staff lovely especially the young girl who was our waitress ..what a hard worker bless her... i come from a hotel background and this young lady is an asset to your company, so polite and nothing was too much trouble for her..well done . whoever cleans needs a mention too as this pub downstairs in the bar area was spotless . Thankyou for an enjoyable night , we will be back this year !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We didnt actually sleep in this Hotel, but went in for a drink. Its a lovely place. lovely warm fire. very cosy and comfy. Lovely well kept and tasty real Ale. Bar staff were lovely and friendly. Would recommend go and visit and have a pint of pippins -mmmm lovely!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgandavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#122 of 192 in York
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#31 of 192 in York
911 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gillygate
The Gillygate
#45 of 192 in York
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trembling Madness Apartments
0.2 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#13 of 192 in York
773 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gillygate Guest House
Gillygate Guest House
#60 of 192 in York
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exhibition Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exhibition Hotel

Property: Exhibition Hotel
Address: 19 Bootham, York YO30 7BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Exhibition Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing