We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Golden Fleece

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Fleece
Ranked #88 of 195 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Look we loved this place, great pub, must see. It was a real experience. Lots of character, loved the slanted floor and uneven walls. We found the service friendly and quick. We had the Giant Yorkshire pudding with beef and mash. Excellent. We still talk about it with fond memories. Great value. This was one of the best English pubs we visited on our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedPanda27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 675 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

Well after doing the York Ghost Hunt we just had to visit the Golden Fleece. My family found the Pub very comfy and welcoming in a possibly haunted way. The staff were friendly and helpful. While there we had lunch and the food was very very good. The burger I ordered was the best I had on my trip from Scotland to London. Great Pub food and experience. I could not see any ghosts while there ,but I could sense them :) I will definitely stop in again if back in York. Mabe try to stay there as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Walked into the Golden Fleece today with my family, after sitting them down I went to the bar to be greated with "if you're staying you need to order food", I asked whether I could perhaps have a drink first "no" was the answer. Then perhaps we could have a look at menu whilst having our first round of drinks? "Go on then", customer service is a winner here! Maybe this pub gets enough custom to be able to be this rude, however I am still from the 'a smile costs nothing' brigade. Avoid unless you just want to say you've had a drink at York's most haunted pub.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicholas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

I've been a regular visitor to the Fleece for a long time and it's only got better with age. The food is reasonably priced and comes in mountainous portions, which is never a bad thing! The bottom bar is often filled with live music and a great atmosphere and the ales are very well kept. The Fleece is always busy, which is a good sign and this wonky old pub never fails to offer up a great evening! Credit to Steph, Guy and the team!
A word of warning, the lower bar is generally reserved for diners until 9pm. This has led to some poor reviews which is unfair on the pub, which is a business and has to make money. This is pretty standard in York, and drinkers can always be assured of a warm welcome later in the evening.
Cracking pub, staff, food, beer and even the odd ghost. Don't miss out!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank rarran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This pub is central and is always very busy, a good sign! It's a pub with great atmosphere, and friendly staff. Tables can be reserved for food, and the menu is varied and reasonably priced. I have it on good authority that the beer is good too! (Husband)!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We went here for a couple of nights for a drink and meal . Loved the Old Peculiar . Staff very friendly and good quirky atmosphere . Meals were good value for the money . Didn't see any ghosts but my wife felt spooked when her drink slid across the table

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jebuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is a lovely little pub with great history for ghost lovers. I would highly recommend this place to anyone. Unfortunately we saw no ghosts on our stay, but that just means we'll have to stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York
21.7 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#29 of 47 in York
1,734 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#41 of 47 in York
716 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#101 of 195 in York
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Fleece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Fleece

Address: 16 Pavement, York YO1 9UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Golden Fleece Hotel York
Golden Fleece York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing