We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly pub .excellent beer”
Review of Golden Fleece

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Fleece
Ranked #81 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice friendly pub .excellent beer”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We went here for a couple of nights for a drink and meal . Loved the Old Peculiar . Staff very friendly and good quirky atmosphere . Meals were good value for the money . Didn't see any ghosts but my wife felt spooked when her drink slid across the table

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jebuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    158
    56
    66
    88
See reviews for
93
346
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is a lovely little pub with great history for ghost lovers. I would highly recommend this place to anyone. Unfortunately we saw no ghosts on our stay, but that just means we'll have to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I was visiting York for the first time with family members from New York. We wanted some good quality British home cooked pub food in a traditional pub.
We arrived early and ordered our food and drinks from the bar. Service was friendly, no problem here. We moved tables as our table was a little cramped and space was at a premium.
Then the food arrived. It may have been home made but it had all been microwaved and was tasteless. My lasagne was possibly the worst one I had ever tasted. I left it and ate the garlic bread. My daughter had cottage pie (surely they could not ruin that?). Wrong. Mostly glutinous mashed potato, you had to search carefully to find any meat. The only edible thing was the soup.
I can only assume that the other reviewer Chris K who says the food is outstanding has never been to one of the UK's quality pubs or he/she is joking. Please avoid this place if you want to eat or you might end up like the skeleton sitting at the bar!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeverleybane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This used to be one of my favourite pubs in york but after my last visit I won't ever return. Pouring down with rain and the bar was full but because my wife and I only wanted a drink and were not eating we were asked to go outside to the smoking area, at which point I politely informed the woman where she should stick her drink and left. It's a pub for goodness sake, just because someone is not eating does not mean they are not valued patrons. I must spend over £100 in the course of a year in this pub but from now on i would rather throw my money down the drain. Despicable way to treat customers and the middle aged lady who asked us to go outside in the rain obviously knows veery little about customer service, a real shame.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pallionlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2013

visited the Golden Fleece today with 7 other family members for a meal and got to say what a lovely place, the staff were lovely really nice could not do enough for you, the food was outstanding would definitely recommend to all who visit york, thanks again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We have been here twice now for a drink and twice we have been asked to move into the front room as where we were was for EATING customers only, despite tables being empty. When we did go into the "Bar Area" there was no empty tables and customers were eating there.........I'm confused! Where are patrons expected to sit and have a relaxing drink? These pubs often forget, it's us who keeps you open!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Iannelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Such a shame that the historical character of a 16th century building has disappeared over the years, once inside the pub and bedrooms, ours was the minster suite, all evidence of history has gone. We did find the room needed a bit more of a deep clean. Now for the positives, the staff were friendly food was good hearty portions, live band on the friday night were great. We didnt experience anything spooky unfortunatley but we did enjoy our stay. Little on pricey side at £130 a night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandvicki7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 47 in York
1,036 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#32 of 47 in York
1,661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#47 of 192 in York
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Fleece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Fleece

Property: Golden Fleece
Address: 16 Pavement, York YO1 9UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Golden Fleece Hotel York
Golden Fleece York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing