We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a letdown” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Fleece

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Fleece
Ranked #81 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a letdown”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have visited york on numerous occasions and always visited the Golden Fleece but never have I been so disappointed in the food! It was absolutely appalling, I had the chilli with rice and from the very first mouthful I was disappointed , it had a strange flavour which was certainly not chilli! It gave me the impression of being yesterday's mince heated through, my partner had the fish and chips and the batter here was absolutely saturated in fat, the chips were just not right and the whole thing was just a total let down, as for the portion sizes .... Quite over the top and off putting, perhaps the owners should take note the amount of food that is being returned to the kitchen, is either a sign of not good or far too much. Sorry but here is one couple that will not be back! Just a big let down and so disappointing!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gail m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    151
    55
    62
    83
See reviews for
86
331
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I absolutely adore Golden Fleece! On 10th October for the first time we stayed overnight. We were in Shambles room and pictures on the website don't do it justice as room is really big with amazing bathroom with a bath and really well finished modern shower! Room and the pub itself is really cosy and as for any ghostly goings on you'll just have to check it for yourself!
Food in Golden Fleece is all home made and so good! Our favourite thing is stake and Stilton pie but there is good range of choice on the menu! Also if you stay in one of the rooms you get breakfast with it and in the morning they set a table for you in from room of the pub! Breakfast options go from full English to veggie choices!
We will definitely be returning here very soon!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Although I haven't stayed here I have visited the pub on 2 occasions - The first time we thought it was a tiny pub until we realised there was a larger area at the back. We ordered food, got it quickly the portions are HUGE! well worth the money! drinks and food reasonable prices! The place has an eery feel to it, which goes with the title of "yorks most haunted pub"! The skeleton sitting at the bar made us chuckle!!
The second time for my visit was purely based on the great service we received the first time. I had travelled to York with friends visiting from Australia, so I wanted to give them a great experience of England, this place didn't disappoint! Great food again! my friend and I even had a scary encounter in the ladies toilets (I think it was all in our heads though)!! So much fun!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennieBoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Small, cosy, full of ye olde atmosphere, busy some real ales alongside standard lagers, good food, and occasional live music. The price of drinks is very acceptable. The staff were polite and friendly. What more can you ask for? We enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRS186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We arrived here for one night and were not disappointed with what we found. What a lovely quaint little pub with friendly staff and a great atmosphere. We stayed in the Minster Suite which was situated at the very top of the building and what a lovely room - so quirky! As we had read the floor sloped to one side likewise throughout the whole building which just added to the whole experience. Would highly recommend just diappointed we did not see any ghosts. My husband did take 146 photos in the dark (yes I know!) and out of them photos 3 have some kind of light/orb in them so who knows? They were taken after a couple of vodkas though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingergiraffe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I didn't stay here but I did call in for a few drinks and found them priced reasonably and it's a nice little pub. The bar man was wry sociable and I would definetly consider staying here in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vampyrx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Tried to get a drink here last night with 8 forty something stone cold colleagues and we were refused entry for being too big a party. On the basis of such friendly service you can imagine I will be rushing back tomorrow to enjoy the fabulous hospitality. Not!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffopod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#13 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#50 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peter Warehouse
Peter Warehouse
#39 of 50 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.3 mi away
Guy Fawkes Inn
Guy Fawkes Inn
#42 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galtres Lodge Hotel
Galtres Lodge Hotel
#108 of 205 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Fleece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Fleece

Property: Golden Fleece
Address: 16 Pavement, York YO1 9UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Golden Fleece Hotel York
Golden Fleece York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing