We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little pub”
Review of Golden Fleece

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Fleece
Ranked #87 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely little pub”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We popped in here on a Thursday night for a couple of drinks while were were visiting York. We were lucky to get a couple of stools near the bar in the back room. They had a Folk duo on called "2 bob" who were brilliant. Great atmosphere and good drinks. Will go back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SproutFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    158
    56
    66
    94
See reviews for
96
350
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and myself stayed there for 2 nights and loved it.
Excellent pub, full of character, lovely staff, good food, could do better by cooking real chips and not frozen/packeted ones. Apart from the chips I cannot fault our stay there last weekend, got exactly what we wanted

Room Tip: All rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metal.surgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Called in here whilst visiting my son and his girlfriend (a student at York Uni). My lad had been here before and raved about it, but being about 5 'o' clock on a Sunday I envisaged struggling to get a table. Fortunately we found a table, and much to the appeasement of my lad who wanted to watch the footie, we had a great spot just in front of the telly. Between us we had Scampi, a wrap something, and two Hunter chickens. All four of us voted it perfect. It was. My chicken was plentiful, in a great sauce, well cooked. Service was without fault and we found the staff to be friendly, polite and attentive. Trouble is, with so much choice in York, it seems a shame to keep going back to the same place but we will be back before too long.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed on Friday Night, the staff couldnt do enough for us from the minute we stepped into the amazing inn, stayed in Saint Catherines room quite spooky at night had a few experiences but we expected that. Live music at night and the breakfast was hugh and lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 798sam798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I and two teenage sons (16 and 13) were walking around York looking for an old pub in which to have dinner and happened on the Golden Fleece. Why not eat and drink at the self-proclaimed "Most Haunted Pub in Britain"? The staff were friendly and service was very good. I had a nice chicken curry and the others all had huge portions of roast beef, mashed and Yorkshire pudding. And for dessert I had one of the best bread and butter puddings I've ever eaten. The old crooked building, the paraphernalia inside and the ghost stories add to the experience. Overall, great value and exactly what we were looking for.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 908paulg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

It was my daughters 21st and after having a lovely meal in an Italian in the shambles decided to have a drink in the golden fleece A BIG MISTAKE ! The girl behind the bar was extremely rude and gave the impression we were an inconvenience by just being there, we quickly finished our drinks and left as did another couple who also also commented on how rude and unfriendly the staff were, will never go back

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Went last week for a meal whilst we were staying in york. We were not disappointed by the size of the portions which were huge.Would reccomend the food most of it was homemade apart from chips but even they were good. Will be visiting again when next in york

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hirros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 47 in York
1,050 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#32 of 47 in York
1,682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.3 mi away
Guy Fawkes Inn
Guy Fawkes Inn
#45 of 192 in York
1,413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#46 of 192 in York
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Fleece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Fleece

Property: Golden Fleece
Address: 16 Pavement, York YO1 9UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Golden Fleece Hotel York
Golden Fleece York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing