We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No ghosts this weekend”
Review of Golden Fleece

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Fleece
Ranked #81 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No ghosts this weekend”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and myself stayed there for 2 nights and loved it.
Excellent pub, full of character, lovely staff, good food, could do better by cooking real chips and not frozen/packeted ones. Apart from the chips I cannot fault our stay there last weekend, got exactly what we wanted

Room Tip: All rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metal.surgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    156
    55
    66
    87
See reviews for
93
340
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Called in here whilst visiting my son and his girlfriend (a student at York Uni). My lad had been here before and raved about it, but being about 5 'o' clock on a Sunday I envisaged struggling to get a table. Fortunately we found a table, and much to the appeasement of my lad who wanted to watch the footie, we had a great spot just in front of the telly. Between us we had Scampi, a wrap something, and two Hunter chickens. All four of us voted it perfect. It was. My chicken was plentiful, in a great sauce, well cooked. Service was without fault and we found the staff to be friendly, polite and attentive. Trouble is, with so much choice in York, it seems a shame to keep going back to the same place but we will be back before too long.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed on Friday Night, the staff couldnt do enough for us from the minute we stepped into the amazing inn, stayed in Saint Catherines room quite spooky at night had a few experiences but we expected that. Live music at night and the breakfast was hugh and lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 798sam798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I and two teenage sons (16 and 13) were walking around York looking for an old pub in which to have dinner and happened on the Golden Fleece. Why not eat and drink at the self-proclaimed "Most Haunted Pub in Britain"? The staff were friendly and service was very good. I had a nice chicken curry and the others all had huge portions of roast beef, mashed and Yorkshire pudding. And for dessert I had one of the best bread and butter puddings I've ever eaten. The old crooked building, the paraphernalia inside and the ghost stories add to the experience. Overall, great value and exactly what we were looking for.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 908paulg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

It was my daughters 21st and after having a lovely meal in an Italian in the shambles decided to have a drink in the golden fleece A BIG MISTAKE ! The girl behind the bar was extremely rude and gave the impression we were an inconvenience by just being there, we quickly finished our drinks and left as did another couple who also also commented on how rude and unfriendly the staff were, will never go back

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Went last week for a meal whilst we were staying in york. We were not disappointed by the size of the portions which were huge.Would reccomend the food most of it was homemade apart from chips but even they were good. Will be visiting again when next in york

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hirros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My sister and I had a one night stay in st Catherine's room and was not dissapointed with spooky happenings. I had my foot slapped during the night and my sister's arm was touched.
We were the only guests staying on that particular night but heard constant footsteps and taps being turned on through the night.
The welcome from the staff at the Golden Fleece is commendable. (thanks Guy for the chat about the history of the pub and surrounding area) The food is fantastic with really large portions - as last review we were unable to finish them.
The lighting, tables and wobbly floors are all what you would expect from an establishment of that era.
It does not matter if you believe in the supernatural or not go and experience the ambience of this delightful pub. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Saint Catherine's room with the recently discovered room which has now been turned into an on su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninja7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
1,018 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#46 of 192 in York
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.1 mi away
Peter Warehouse
Peter Warehouse
#38 of 50 in York
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Fleece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Fleece

Property: Golden Fleece
Address: 16 Pavement, York YO1 9UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Golden Fleece Hotel York
Golden Fleece York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing