We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere is one thing but do we have to sit in the dark?”
Review of Golden Fleece

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Fleece
Ranked #87 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Dropped in for a sandwich and drink whilst out shopping, the first thing that struck me was the darkness. I know this place is ancient and ghostly and historic but blimey it would be nice to see what you are eating. The staff behind the bar take your order but thats it, no extra's, the smile never came, the thank you never came, "the food can take up to half an hour" pretty much take it or leave it!
It was a dry reasonably mild January afternoon so we opted to sit outside in the daylight - sandwiches duly arrived, and were nicely presented and the bowl of chips were good.
If you want "history" and "spookiness" it's all there, if you are remotely claustrophobic don't bother, if you want customer service with a smile, a light and airy lunch go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pollyschoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 686 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had 3 rooms for 2 nights, we had a great time, the rooms were how we expected, old looking. Don't go there if you want modern it's not what it's about, the food was excellent the breakfast is big, the mixed grill is huge, really good, nothing was too much trouble, will be going back at some point, great location aswell.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We come to York a lot and have eaten here before. The service can vary as it is popular and busy but the food has always been good and the portions huge. Mt husband had the Cajun Chicken burger with chips and salad and was well pleased. The same meal in The Slug and Lettuce was tiny and a real rip off. Yes it is dark and the seats crek but that is part of the fun.The building slants which we loved but maybe not so good if you are older or disabled? We will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Persist with waiting for a seat at the back and remember there is seating upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed on Tuesday 11 th Dec and really enjoyed our stay,The staff were very friendly upon our arrival and throughout our stay,we stayed in the Minster room, we did not experience any paranormal activity but the old peculiar may have had something to do with that.The building is old so don't expect 5* but if you want olde,friendly staff,one of the best breakfasts then this may be the place for you
We will be back again !
Ps the horrible history tour which sets off from the pub in the evening is well worth it and very informative

Room Tip: The minster room looks over the shambles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Visited the golden fleece sunday 16th dec 2012 (FESTIVAL OF ANGELS). We have called in this pub a few times over the years and always had a good pint of theakstons old peculiar and thought we would try the food this time.We ordered 3 sunday lunches and a cottage pie,The sunday dinner was awful,veg was overcooked,mash was stodgy and beef was full of fat and gristle,The cottage pie was very dry and needed more gravy,roasties and yorkshire puds were ok but what a real let down as this pub oozes character and real charm!. Would defo call bk 4 a pint but york offers some great pubs that serve quality sunday scran...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dereksnowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I last stayed in the Golden Fleece around four years ago with my boyfriend, in the Shambles room. We had such a lovely time that I couldn't wait to return recently with my friend, staying this time in the St Catherine's suite. Since my last visit standards have most certainly dropped, and I write this as someone who rarely complains. As mentioned by many the place needs a good scrub! The fact that our window didn't close properly, meant a constant icy breeze came through in to the room, unless we closed the thick curtains, but as the heating was on most of the time this wasn't to much of a problem. We didn't have the best view out of our window, which I would have been fine with due to the nature of the building. However the 100's of fag ends that have been thrown on the roof at some point (assuming people smoking in the rooms) was a sight for sore eyes! In fact I am sure people had been smoking in the rooms as my bed sheet (although clean) had a fag burn hole in it! Now on to the main problem! The AWFUL smell in the bathroom, and I genuinely mean AWFUL! Drains and raw sewerage is the only way I can describe it! I went down on the first morning to ask if something could be done, the reply? Did I want some bleach to pour down the toilet? Firstly it was clearly a pluming problem, possibly coming up from the shower plug, as one morning I was nearly sick at the smell when taking a shower, and secondly you should never ask a guest to sort out the issue themselves! A BOTTLE OF BLEACH? When this strange little man (bless him) came upstairs to take a whiff, he apparently couldn't smell anything, and by this point it was at its worse - spread to the bedroom. I can still smell it now I'm home! Absolutely awful! I don't think they came up to sort the problem in the end either. Breakfast was really nice although the little man who serves it could be a little more enthusiastic 'What do you want for breakfast?' and when I replied with yes to full english, he turned to my friend in a monotone voice 'oh right, do you want one as well?'. Overall staff where very friendly. I am disappointed this time around, even small things like glasses to drink from and a bar menu, where missing from the room this time. I may return one day, however not anytime soon, such a shame.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rach870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We spent the day in York,we spotted the pub and decided to go inside. Great service, i would recommend the steak and stilton pie.. The food was great, will definitely go back there again.
We finished off the evening with a tour round the town with a nice young man called James, who told us some of the gory details of what went on in the "old days"
We had a great day, great food and great company in the evening.
Thank you James ! :)


Tracey (North Wales)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#6 of 47 in York
734 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#28 of 47 in York
1,756 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
909 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#11 of 47 in York
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Fleece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Fleece

Address: 16 Pavement, York YO1 9UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Golden Fleece Hotel York
Golden Fleece York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing