We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”
Review of The White Bear Inn

The White Bear Inn
Ranked #121 of 881 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous surroundings, lovely pub and excellent food. Go here On a Sunday for a real feed. Order steak and ale in a giant Yorkshire pudding for around four pounds (bar menu). You will not find better value or taste.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poppyplatt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    36
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food and good value”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We ate here twice whilst staying in Stillington for our Yorkshire holiday. Excellent menu, large portions and good pub grub, and for those who prefer to eat earlier there's a great value early bird menu too. A really friendly pub and very busy too, best to book a meal if you want to eat in the restaurant. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank HelenMc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good Sunday Lunch.”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

An excellent late lunch. Fresh ingredients and super yorkshire puddings. The roast beef was tasty and tender. We have dined there before and I have to say that both the food and drink has been good quality and good value for money. The pub has a good atmosphere and the landlord is very friendly. A very enjoyable afternoon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anna f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Saturday evening and the place is packed”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Value for money,well cooked and well presented good food is what you find at the White Bear.We have called on a number of occasions and never been disapointed apart from having the huge gammon steak and not leaving room for a sweet.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BARRY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Phil 'n Sue - and good 'pub grub', too !”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Staying in the area recently, we found our hotel had a 'kitchen malfunction' (gas supply or lack of it) so took the advice of two 'locals' (hotel staff) on where we should find an early-evening meal - and are we glad we did.......
A short drive away and on Stllington's main street, with easy 'on street' parking, we found the White Bear and, given the choice after being greeted by Sue, we were soon at our choice of table in the dining area, which encircles a open fire-place - that not in use in June, but bedecked with the 'white bears' about whom other reviewers have written.
The menu was not extensive, but very comprehensive with a 'two fish meals and a bottle of wine' deal for £20 - which my companion could have eaten alone, me not being a great fish fan.
So, we each chose from the main (a la carte) menu, with wines by the glass (175ml)(stated and measured - nb other restaurants and bars who don't even specify the size of the 'portion' and serve it in an unmarked glass). There were, from memory, five white and five red wines 'by the glass' together with a rose and a sparkler (I think) - all seemed excellent value.
The food was not 'fast food', and from my salad accompanying my starter, had been freshly prepared that moment. The 'smoked fish' starter included smoked salmon and smoked mackerel, among the bits I recognised - but the lady enjoyed it, as too the 'prawn cocktail' I tried.
The mains - another fish dish (salmon) for the lady and a gammon steak with eggs, chips and a salad for me - were both clearly freshly prepared, and quite excellently presented.
We enjoyed our meal very much, including the attention of our young waitress (fairly new to the task, we guessed), and watching Sue's very 'light touch' in helping the youngster improve in the role was a master-class in staff training - just the occasional whisper when required.
Overall, a lovely couple of hours - and the bill of less than forty pounds left space for a tip.
Twenty pounds a head for quite excellent food in a welcoming and professionally-delivered restaurant was a joy - thanks to all concerned.
PS It was clear from the greetings going on that there were many 'locals' or at least 'regulars' there - and I quite understand why. It is hard to fault it in any way at all: even seated close to the kitchen/servery door, we enjoyed the 'cabaret' that is food prep and delivery in a well-run operation. Oh, and finally - there are several 'other' menus' on the pub's own website, so do 'Google' it if you are in the area: we thought it a great 'find'

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lonesometravellerGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Bear Inn also viewed

Stillington, North Yorkshire
Huby, North Yorkshire
 
Huby, North Yorkshire
Sutton on the Forest, York
 

Been to The White Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing