We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home From Home.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchard Rose Cottage
Ranked #140 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Having stayed at Orchard Rose Cottage twice this year I can honestly say it is the best B&B I have had the pleasure of staying in. (March 2012 & July 2012)

As soon as I arrived on my first visit, I was greeted by Janet and her two beautifully well behaved dogs, Jack & Daisy. They were quickly ushered away into their utility room and remained calm and quiet behind their gate for the remainder of my stay. As I arrived for my second stay I was once again greeted by Janet, Jack & Daisy but more as a friend and felt truly welcome.

My room was clean, airy and very homely as was the rest of the house. Janet offered lunch and dinner during my stays, her food was lovely especially her puddings, even breakfast was a meal to look forward to!

Beautiful views from the house and walks close by with no concern for walking my dog in the early hours of the morning.

Certainly a home from home and I can’t wait to plan my next stay at Orchard Rose Cottage with Janet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoeLeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 37 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

The moment you enter and meet your hostess Janet you are in for a treat, Charmong and welcoming, Then the bedroom really cosy and once you see the fluffy bathrobes you never want to leave.

The typical English breakfast is another excellent reason to stay, Can't wait to get back many thanks Janet

Room Tip: small and quiet so any room is good, mine of course was the best I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mangosteen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Awonderful greeting started the experience. The food was lovely, fresh cooked and with the just out of the ground taste. The accomadation lovely and comfortable. You felt as though you were at home. Thoroughly recommended so much so we have booked again

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We was given a very warm welcome by Janet, who went over and above board to make our stay happy. Room was lovely with en suite.Excellent Breakfast. We loved it and hope to visit again one day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

A really excellent example of an English B&B. Lovely rooms, beds, linen and bathroom. We didn't know there were any dogs there until we asked. Their welcome was just as warm as Janets!! Set in a quiet rural hamlet, it was the perfect retreat from the busy wedding we'd been to. The breakfast was excellent and the overall visit was a delight.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaela a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I spent 3 nights at orchard rose cottage and I could honestly say I could not fault it. I stay away on a regular basis and this was the best B+B that I have ever stayed in.
Janet was a first class host and I was made to feel very welcome as soon as I arrived, as was my 7 month old cocker spaniel " Dolly", who was also well catered for. I especially enjoyed my morning and evening walks with my dog in the surrounding countryside.
The accomadation, food and location was exellent, I was sorry when Friday morning came and I had to leave.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greylagriver7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Ground floor room was very accessible BUT Bed was a bit too high even for me.

Breakfast was good and locally sourced. It was nice to be able to relax in the garden and come and go as I pleased.

Phone and WiFi signal was intermittent.
Owner was very friendly and helpful.

Bill was a little more than I expected.

Room Tip: Ground Floor has SMALL en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowyWhite52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
145 reviews
0 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Rose Cottage

Address: Harton, York YO60 7NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchard Rose Cottage is a tastefully decorated country B&B, recently completely refurbished, small & friendly very comfortable accommodation. All home cooking. Overlooking the Howardian Hills. A hidden gem to get away and totally relax. Friendly and welcoming. All welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing