We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and cozy, with a great breakfast.”
Review of Tower Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tower Guest House
Ranked #5 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2010

I had the pleasure of being one of the first guests of Diana and Tony, when they took over the Tower Guest House and they were wonderful hosts. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the breakfasts are very good. They went out of their way to make sure I was comfortable, during my stay.
The room I stayed in was a basic double, but was very nice. I did see some of the other rooms with four poster beds and larger rooms with seating areas, which all looked lovely.
Despite the snow it still only took about 15 minuets to walk into town and the bus goes right past the hotel. So it is in a good location, close to the centre of York, but quiet at night.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassy651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 684 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stayed for two nights at the end of Jan. On arrival we recieved a free upgrade, complimentary tea/coffee and a warm welcome from the host. Room was clean and tidy with free chocolate, fruit and excellent tea/coffee facilities. The bed was extremely comfortable and the whole room was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was wholesome with a wide range of fruits,cereals and cooked food on offer.
The host was also keen for you to take snacks for the day aswell as providin helpful information abou the attractions. A ten minute walk to the town, the guest house was adequately positioned and provided free parking. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimbers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

visted york 4 times this year on long weekends and found this guest house the best. barry and hillary the owners are very helpfull and nice. accomdation and breakfast excellent would highly recommend this guest house will be back next time in york keith karen

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanleyPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

From the moment we arrived the whole york experience was great and so was THE TOWER.Barry was full of all the answers to our questions about york and the area,breakfast was the best ive had in a long time and hope to go back to one of the best b&b i have ever visited.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimsvalet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Very impressed with all aspects of the accomodation & friendliness of the owners. Very clean, tidy and quaint. With off street parking and easy access to the centre of york by foot (10/12 minutes). The owners were very helpful and very nice. The breakfast was also excellent. Would highly recommend this guest house and would most definately return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TouristLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davetheknave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letty_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,433 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
885 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#9 of 194 in York
364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 194 in York
402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Guest House

Address: 2 Feversham Crescent, York YO31 8HQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $125 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower guest house offers boutique-style accommodation in a grand Victorian town house in York, just a 10 minute walk to York Minster and The Shambles. We offer 8 luxurious en suite rooms with high-quality bedding to help ensure a restful night's sleep. Free WiFi and free private parking. Ideal for romantic breaks and leisure or business trips. Sorry, but we cannot accept children under 8 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tower Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing