We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique guest house!”
Review of Tower Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tower Guest House
Ranked #5 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a lovely weekend for my husbands birthday. We can not fault the Tower guest house, the owners attention to detail is fantastic. We stayed in room 5 which is the blue super king / twin room. It is at the top of the building and was warm, quiet and immaculately presented.

The hotel is about ten minutes walk into York passing some nice shops on the way and has free parking which I imagine would be more difficult to find at a guest house inside the walls.

The owners should be very proud of the guest house, it is a brilliant home from home feel and we will certainly stay here again next time. In fact we already know which themed room we want to stay in next time!

So much better than a boring hotel where each room is the same!


Emma & Adrian

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmaandadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 664 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at the Tower Guest House in November 2013 and it didn't disappoint. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated. A fridge stocked with some chocolate and drinks which were complimentary was a nice touch. Plenty of storage and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was either brand new or recently refurbished and the shower was lovely. A compact room but had everything you needed for a very enjoyable stay. We were on the top floor and some of the ceiling was low so be careful not to bang your head when getting into bed. The breakfast was lovely and nothing was too much trouble.
It was about a 10 minute stroll into the town centre so the location was good. We will definitely stay at the Tower Guest House again if in York. Thanks for a very enjoyable stay. Andrea and Dave

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndreaJLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and I spent a few days over new year here and thought it was amazing, my vegan diet was catered for at breakfast and we stayed in the wonderful room 2 with the spa bathroom and four poster bed. I can honestly say this was a truly marvellous break away and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Teressabunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this guest house the weekend before Christmas and were not disappointed. Our room (room 6) was excellent. On the second floor, it had character, was nicely decorated, well maintained and very clean. There was plenty of storage space, tea and coffee making facilities, biscuits and chocolates. The silent fridge and widescreen TV added further to an excellent standard of accommodation. The king size bed was very comfortable and the pillows just right (although understandably this is a matter of personal taste). The bathroom had a contemporary design with walk in shower and under floor heating. The only word of advice would be to mind your head in parts of the room due to the low ceiling.

We were welcomed with tea and biscuits and Tony gave us a map and overview of the area. The breakfast was excellent and offered a good choice. We were able to walk into the main town for other meals and there were a few places to eat just on the outskirts closer to the guest house.
If you want something a bit different this guest house would be a good choice. It is located next to York hospital and about a 15-20 minute walk into the main town. We were able to walk there from the station quite comfortably. We would recommend this guest house to friends and family unreservedly.

Room Tip: Each room has its own individual character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MKM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

thoroughly enjoyed our stay here,greeted with tea and biscuits,comfortable clean room with complimentary drinks,chocs and biscuits,delicious breakfast,great hosts,would certainly stay here again,great location

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariaroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Cannot speak highly enough of our wonderful stay at a beautiful guest house in a fabulous city.

On arrival we were greeted by Tony, who made us comfortable after a long drive with a much needed cup of tea and biscuits, whilst he presented us with an extremely useful brochure on York, which included a local map. Tony spent time recommending restaurants that might suit our taste and pin pointing them on the map for us.
We were given the keys to our room and whilst we finished our drinks, Tony kindly took our luggage upstairs for us.
We stayed in Room 7. It was clean and excellently presented, with plenty of space given that it is an attic room. There were lots of lovely touches in the room that I have never experienced staying anywhere else, including a small sewing kit, a fridge with complimentary drinks and a few snacks. The bed was superbly comfortable (possibly more so than my own at home!) and slept well for all 3 nights of our stay.
Breakfast was delicious. My only slight criticism would be that you have to pre-book what you will want, which actually makes for a very quick and attentive service in the morning which is excellent when you have a fun packed day to get started, but as I fell unwell on the second day of my trip I felt extremely guilty for putting such attentive hosts out by not being able to present for the breakfast I had ordered however they were very accomodating and allowed my boyfriend to bring some fruit up to the room for me.
Our stay here was excellent, and I cannot recommend it highly enough. A beautiful room, with fantastic hosts and facilities within walking distance of everything you would want in York......what more could you possibly ask for?!

Room Tip: I can't imagine any rooms here would disappoint!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

What a lovely guest house. Warm welcome on arrival from Tony the owner.walking distance to town centre.Breakfast superb.We had room 6 theTower room.all modern facilities under floor heating in bathroom a pleasure. Definitely recommend.will certainly visit again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank susanmm1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.1 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,390 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
877 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,432 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#9 of 194 in York
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Guest House

Address: 2 Feversham Crescent, York YO31 8HQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $120 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower guest house offers boutique-style accommodation in a grand Victorian town house in York, just a 10 minute walk to York Minster and The Shambles. We offer 8 luxurious en suite rooms with high-quality bedding to help ensure a restful night's sleep. Free WiFi and free private parking. Ideal for romantic breaks and leisure or business trips. Sorry, but we cannot accept children under 8 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tower Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing