We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely service in a lovely city”
Review of Tower Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tower Guest House
Ranked #6 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely service in a lovely city”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We booked into the Tower Guest House last minute and wern't expecting much. When we arrived Tony greeted us with a cup of tea (much needed after a long journey) and carried our bags up to our room. The room itself was spacious and luxurious decorated in something that looked like French regency. We were very pleasantly surprised! Breakfast was lovely (and catered to vegetarians!), service fantastic and there was only a 10 minute walk to the city!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    42
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
449
22
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I had a really lovely weekend. The room was fabulous as was the breakfast and the hosts are excellent. I would thoroughly recommend this guest house as it is warm, welcoming and friendly. And my wife and I shall be staying there again in the not to distant future.

Room Tip: the room we had was large and sunny and ideal if you want to celebrate an anniversary Rm 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glynisw_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We've just spent our first stay at Tower Guest House and it certainly won't be our last, we loved it! Our welcome on arrival was very warm and because our room wasn't ready when we arrived, we were shown in to the dining room and offered a complimentary drink, a lovely touch.
We stayed in room 4 (the four poster room), it was spacious, clean and tidy and the bed was really comfortable.
Breakfast was top quality, with locally sourced produce it was absolutely delicious and set us up for a great day sight seeing in this beautiful city.

All in all, we loved our stay at the Tower Guest House, and would definitely recommend it for a great place to stay in the centre of York.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yinyang76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Good welcome on arrival, very helpful and informative. Loads of leaflets available. The bus (No 6) goes directly into York centre from just outside. It runs at least every half hour.
We booked the four poster room for 3 nights. The room was quite big but a bit cluttered with all sorts of bits and pieces that the tourist board probably ask for but are really a bit unnecessary. eg Scales?? The bed was extremely comfortable and despite being on a main road, traffic noise wasn't an issue at all.
The en-suite really is far too small as you can't even dry yourself in it, having to come back out into the bedroom. It was spotless though.
We were surprised that there was no guest lounge for relaxing in the evening or late afternoon. This would have been very useful.
Breakfast was lovely, freshly made to your order that you put in before bedtime, a good idea to avoid waste.
Overall we enjoyed our stay but the ensuite was tiny and the lack of a lounge was an issue. Service was friendly and very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mknScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Loved my room, which was especially clean. The breakfast service was very good and the good tasty. Two minor points the tea and toast was slightly cold by the time it got to the table and the renovations work (which I'm sure will be finished soon) started very early right above my room. All in all this did not detract from a lovely experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sardegna
2 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights last December at the Tower Guest House.
Lovely and very clean rooms, excellent breakfast but most of all, the great sense of welcoming and caring from the owner Tony, who always made us feel at home.
Thank you. Gianfranco & Graziella

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hosts Tony and Diana were very accomodating, Tony even rung us to find out what time we would arrive. On arrival we were greeted by the hosts who told us all about York, places to visit and where to eat. The room was spotless, warm, luxury bedding, comfortable and splendid decor.The full English breakfast was delicious, my partner had eggs benedict and said it was to die for, there was piping hot 'real' coffee, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts and muffins. In the room there was complimentary quality streets, coffee and tea making facilities and a fridge with bottled water inside, large tv on the wall with freeview tv. Overall great stay, only a ten minute walk into York city centre, would recommend anybody to stay here.

Room Tip: Room number 3 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 192 in York
850 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 192 in York
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Guest House

Property: Tower Guest House
Address: 2 Feversham Crescent, York YO31 8HQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower guest house offers boutique-style accommodation in a grand Victorian town house in York, just a 10 minute walk to York Minster and The Shambles. We offer 8 luxurious en suite rooms with high-quality bedding to help ensure a restful night's sleep. Free WiFi and free private parking. Ideal for romantic breaks and leisure or business trips. Sorry, but we cannot accept children under 8 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tower Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing