We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heworth Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heworth Guest House
Ranked #36 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

Stayed here with friends on a weekend break, and was happy to find that all the previous good reviews here on trip advisor were spot on. Three of us stayed in the Superior Family room with a king size and single bed. There's plenty of room for three adults, and the room doesn't feel cramped at all. The beds are comfy. Linens, towels etc are clean and modern and there's toiletries provided. A really good sized tv for a b&b and a newly installed ipod docking station which was a great extra, all made the room feel like a home from home. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc and a substantial full english or variation on, set us up for the day. The hosts are lovely, and offered maps of the area and information about local places to eat and visit. Stayed in lots of b&bs in this country and this is one of the better. If you are looking for a good base to vist York, then you can't go wrong here - its close to the centre and you will receive a warm welcome and hopefully enjoy the stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loueelamb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    41
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
87
142
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night on our way up north. We loved the hospitality Sue and Chris showed us. It is only a short walk into beautiful York and if time had allowed we would have stayed longer.
Thnaks to you both!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAB048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

Chris and Sue run a lovely B&B within 20 minutes walk of the city centre. It was probably one the best B&B's I've ever stayed in. Having stayed in York before in an over priced hotel, this B&B is excellent value also.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeecyNoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

Chris & Sue were there to welcome us on arrival and made us all feel at home straight away. The triple room was fantastic, with en-suite toilet and shower, a fridge to chill the wine and was above all spotless. Breakfasts consisted of unlimited helpings of cereal, fruit, yoghurt, fruit juice, milk with Sue serving a pot of tea, a coffee or cafetiere if you prefer and a cooked breakfast of your choice (I would recommend the full English). Thank you both for making our stay in York so comfortable and I haven't forgotten our deal about the DB9!! ;-)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisW001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed at this Guest House three years ago and it was great, so we thought we would stay again this year, the owners are lovely and nothing is too much trouble, the rooms are more than ample in size and extremely clean, and the breakfast is great too, there is a more than ample range of cereals, fresh fruit, fresh fruit juice and cooked breakfasts to chose from and you wont need to eat again until tea time..!
Very friendly owners, a fantastic place to stay, we will definately be staying here again on our next trip to York..!
Thank you
Neil & Heidi

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilandHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

How can I add to the previous reviews; very difficult without being boring. Heworth Guest House was the cleanest, friendliest, and most comfortable we have stayed in. The rooms are excellent, and the breakfast is superb.

Well done Chris and Sue.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pambull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

We only had a one night stay, but it was perfect! Communication right from the time of booking was excellent, even warning us of nearby roadworks!
We were greeted on arrival and made to feel very welcome, with all of our questions answered about where to go during our visit.
The room was spacious, modern and clean, and the breakfast!! Well, it certainly keeps you going all day!
What a great place to stay. If we're ever in York again we won't even look elsewhere - this will be the only place we'll check.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shabtone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Ascot House
Ascot House
#9 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.0 mi away
Feversham Lodge Guest House
0.6 mi away
Monkgate Guest House
Monkgate Guest House
#69 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blakeney House
Blakeney House
#39 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.3 mi away
Burton Stone Inn
Burton Stone Inn
#25 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tower Guest House
Tower Guest House
#6 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heworth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heworth Guest House

Property: Heworth Guest House
Address: 126 East Parade | Heworth, York YO31 7YG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Heworth Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to our Bed & Breakfast which is a family run Guesthouse. Although not in the centre of York we are only 0.9 of a mile away from York City Centre (Parliament Street). We don't have private car parking however our guests are able to use Free No Restriction Street Car Parking. All bedrooms have wall mounted LCD TV's with built in Freeview. Each room also has complementary Tea, Coffee & Drinking Chocolate. Room 6, on the ground floor has a king-size bed. Room 1 has king-size bed & Room 3 has a Super King bed & both rooms have larger than standard shower cubicles. Most Credit/Debit cards accepted. Each bedroom has is own radiator thermostat so you may turn your room heating on & off as you like. York Train Station is approximately 7 minutes (1.6 miles) by taxi (approx £8.00). There is also a Bus service from the Train Station to a stop opposite our front door. There is a regular Bus Service to the City Centre, York University, Monks Cross and the Railway Station. York University is approximately 5 minutes drive away. A Generous Full English, Vegetarian or Coeliac Breakfast which is cooked to order is included along with fruit juice, tea/coffee & a choice of cereals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Heworth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heworth Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing