We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest people and cleanest place I have ever stayed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heworth Guest House
Ranked #47 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Chris and Sue run the gorgeous Heworth Guest House in York. Well worth a visit. reasonably priced, this House was immaculate with everything we could have needed in our room. The breakfast was wonderfully filling and set us up for the day. We were really looked after. Courtesy beyond the expected when we were offered a lift and taken into town. I am planning to return very soon because I know how lovely it is to have such wonderful hosts in such a lovely environment.
Thank you for everything Chris and Sue! x
Jacqueline and Della, Blackpool x

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flowerfaeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 325 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2010

We found this guest house on the internet and the reviews were excellent,so my wife and I booked a weekend break,the hosts Chris and Sue are two of the nicest people that we have ever met,the room we had was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and an excellent onsuite,the photos you view are exactly as the rooms are,the breakfast was amazing with all the options,and served with a smile,we did not feel the need to have anything to eat until the evening,it also was a nice pleasant 15 minute stroll into the centre of York,we will definately book again with Chris and Sue on our next visit

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldtimers6254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

The Heworth Guest House is a ten minute walk from the City Centre or a 2 min bus ride. We were made really welcome by Sue on arrival she was very friendly and helpfull, our room which was number 1 had a large double bed, one single bed, flat screen TV, mini fridge with wine glasses and opener, tons of clothes strorage and a large en-suite . The room was really lovely and modern, it was the best nights sleep I have had in months. We went for breakfast at 9 the next morning and were welsomed with several cereals, fresh fruits, yoghurts, juices, lots of tea or coffee and then a full english which was huge and really lovely. I have no complaints at all about the Heworth GUest House and we will certainly be returning soon.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

I stayed for a night with my teenage daughter,whilst visiting York University. Everything about our stay was perfect,from our hosts to the cleanliness and superb food. The weather was freezing but the cosiness of the Guest House more than compensated! My daughter will be going to the University in October,so we will definitely use Heworth again in the future when visiting her!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nipperCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

What you see is what you get. Unlike most pictures on web sites, the rooms at this guest house are exactly as viewed. We stayed in the lovely attic room, it was exceptionally comfortable with high quality cotton sheets and the bathroom on suite was modern with great fluffy towels.
Chris and Sue make you feel like a house guest rather than a paying customer. Breakfast was excellent and they will accomodate any requirements. Being a very slow walker town is about 20 mins away, although it was a very cold weekend and getting later in the evening in sub zero temps back took just 12 mins - brisk to keep us warm!

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank BelleWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

My friend and I have just spent the last week end at York and stayed at 'Heworth' guest house. Chris and Sue could not have been more friendly and helpful - greast hosts. The room was a bit dated, but they are going to upgrade - very clean: comfortable beds: lovely breakfast cooked exactly as you want it. Ten minutes walk and you're in town. Had a great time in York.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junejohnson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

I've been staying at Heworth Guest House every week for the past 3 months whilst on business in York. I've stayed in every room in the house! The rooms are extremely comfortable, well sized, tastefully decorated and the cleanliness can not be faulted. The TVs all have freeview and I'd have been lost if it wasn't for the FREE wireless internet connection that is available. Sue and Chris are very welcoming and thanks to the very generous and delicious cooked breakfasts they provide, my waistline has expanded in the time I've been staying with them! The breakfast room is really light and there is a friendly atmosphere in the mornings. A full vegetarian breakfast menu is also available as well as a large variety of cereal, yoghurt and fresh fruit. York centre is only a 15-20 min walk at the most from the guest house and there are also 2 local pubs 5 mins away. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when in York!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tableforoneChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Blakeney House
Blakeney House
#36 of 194 in York
230 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#53 of 194 in York
190 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chelmsford Place Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
1.2 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#11 of 194 in York
881 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#19 of 194 in York
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heworth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heworth Guest House

Address: 126 East Parade | Heworth, York YO31 7YG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $97 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heworth Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to our Bed & Breakfast which is a family run Guesthouse. Although not in the centre of York we are only 0.9 of a mile away from York City Centre (Parliament Street). We don't have private car parking however our guests are able to use Free No Restriction Street Car Parking. All bedrooms have wall mounted LCD TV's with built in Freeview. Each room also has complementary Tea, Coffee & Drinking Chocolate. Room 6, on the ground floor has a king-size bed. Room 1 has king-size bed & Room 3 has a Super King bed & both rooms have larger than standard shower cubicles. Most Credit/Debit cards accepted. Each bedroom has is own radiator thermostat so you may turn your room heating on & off as you like. York Train Station is approximately 7 minutes (1.6 miles) by taxi (approx £8.00). There is also a Bus service from the Train Station to a stop opposite our front door. There is a regular Bus Service to the City Centre, York University, Monks Cross and the Railway Station. York University is approximately 5 minutes drive away. A Generous Full English, Vegetarian or Coeliac Breakfast which is cooked to order is included along with fruit juice, tea/coffee & a choice of cereals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Heworth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heworth Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing