We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money”
Review of Carlton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton House
Ranked #8 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Very good location, pleasant and helpful staff, clean rooms and lovely food. Great place for a family stay. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MonikaMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    194
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
265
801
34
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Really lovely hotel: clean, comfortable rooms; friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere, lovely breakfast spread. I would recommend this hotel to friends & family & will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolineslater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We had a lovely 2 night stay at Carlton House.Room was very clean,especially en-suite which had a very powerful spotlessly clean shower with plenty of hot water.Proprietor was very friendly as was all the staff we met.Breakfast room again was very clean and we were served a first class,piping hot full english breakfast,and also had choice of cereals,fruit,yoghurts etc.Although car park small ,proprietor had parking well organised.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found a beautiful restaurant called Lucias in Swinegate Court(near Minster).We will definitely stay at Carlton House again on our next visit to York.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garry62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

I had a good one night stay at Carlton House, managed by Mark and Melanie Richardson. The room is clean and spacious. The room has flat screen TV and cable network, which I did not expect for that price. The bathroom comes with toiletries and mini shampoo/conditioner, those you find in 4/5 stars hotels. The hotel came with WiFi but I did not use in this trip.

Overall, I am happy with the hotel and the service provided by Mark and his team. I arrived earlier and kept my luggage with Mark. When I returned, the bag was in my room. They served lovely Yorkshire breakfast.

If you are planning to stay in York, I highly recommend Carlton House at The Mount. 15 mins walk from the York train station. You will regret if you don't.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mytrainmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

I wouldn't find enough words to thanks everyone at Carlton for such a pleasent , friendly , relaxing stay !!

Perfect location , friendly atmosphere, superb help and customer care, great charming hotel, succueltn breakfast ....

What else ? Brilliant restaurant advice ....

Dario

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darioMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We found this Guest House on Laterooms and were attracted by their glowing reviews, booking direct through their website saved us £10 per night. The room was clean, spacious, modern and quiet to say were were a stones throw from the hustle and bustle of the city. Free wifi was available as is a pc in reception for guest use. The breakfast was cooked to order, had a great choice and was served with a smile. Owners and staff were friendly, knowledgable and extremely accommodating.
Reccomended to eat at Delrios Italian and Indocine restaurants which were both exceptional.
Would reccomend to anyone wanting a clean friendly guest house a breath of fresh air from your stuffy chain hotels.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elephantus11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We stayed at Carlton house for two nights with our three young kids while we visited York and did a day-trip to Scottland. We were very comfortable in our room with a Queen bed and three twins for our 10, 8 & 6 year olds. The breakfast was delicious, great coffee and the best wifi in England. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLSG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,254 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.0 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#5 of 192 in York
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton House

Property: Carlton House
Address: 134 The Mount, York YO24 1AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Visit York Tourism Awards for Excellence 2008 & 2014 Guest House of the Year. Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013. Carlton House is a lovingly restored 1830s Georgian Townhouse combining original features with modern amenities creating an elegant yet contemporary feel. Situated on the tree lined Mount gateway to the historic City of York. Enjoy an English breakfast made with locally sourced produce after your peacefull nights sleep.. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carlton House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing