We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value single business traveller rate.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carlton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton House
Ranked #8 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great value single business traveller rate.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Fell on Carlton House as Premier Inn wanted £89 a night for single room midweek no breakfast...Give over.
Everything you want from a bed & breakfast at a sensible rate. Free car parking fantastic breakfast and free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonieB6591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonHouseYork, Owner at Carlton House, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback and for spreading the word to your colleagues that their is an alternative to todays chains. Premier Inn may have rooms from £29 advertised on their window but they failed to deliver last Tuesday night.
Thank you and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    191
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
255
766
33
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

What a great find Carlton House is. So close to the centre of York and had parking! We were greeted by Mark. Such a nice guy. He carried our bags to our room. Gave us a map of York. Explained the main things to do. Told us about excellent restaurants. Couldn't have been more helpful. We had room 11. It was large and comfortable. My only complaint was that the wifi didnt work in the room but when I sat in the stair well it worked a treat. Shower was great. Hot and strong. Plenty of tea and coffee and yummy biscuits. Breakfast was fab. Huge choice of cereals and fruit. Full English was delicious. Met the dog. A chubby pug. Thanks Mark. You made our stay very memorable. Would definitely recommend Carlton House. It's beautiful.

Room Tip: get a room on 1st or 2nd floor at the back. Quieter and less stairs to walk up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazcrouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonHouseYork, Owner at Carlton House, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for reccomendation and for taking time to write such a complimantary and in-depth review. So glad we made youre stay a pleasant and memorable one.
Apologies for the low wifi signal we've now switched to a fibre optic provider which seems to have cured the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very nice privately run guest house with car parking. 10 minute walk into the centre of York. The owners were friendly and helpful, breakfast was good and our room was spotless. We stayed on the third floor which could be difficult if mobility is a problem but the room was very nice and quiet. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Booked a last minute, saw on Laterooms and phoned direct and saved £25 a night..
Fab, room, friendly staff, best breakfast EVER.
15 mins walk into city, parked car up and left it until we checked out.
Really really pleasant stay....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve10510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

If Carlsberg did B&Bs then this would be the one they used on their tv adverts. Need I say anymore. Check out their other reviews.
Comfiest bed EVER.
Great reccomends for restaurants and lovely wine bars in this cosmopolitan city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob747B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over the end of the weekend. Staff were friendly and helpful. Very clean and spacious room. Can't fault them, land lord was polite and gave tips where things were in York.

Tasty breakfast, good selection and friendly staff.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Carlton House ticked off all the items we wanted in a place to stay in York. A good location, a reasonable rate, a good-sized, en-suite room, a clean and welcoming atmosphere, and a generous breakfast menu that sets you up for a day in York. It is just a couple blocks outside the wall and Mickelgate specifically - in British, 5-7 minutes to the wall and 15-20 minutes to the city center. A very pleasant and easy walk. York is a beautiful city with a very lively night life so we appreciated having a location slightly out of the more noisy places so we could sleep without issue. Carlton House also has a parking lot in the back, which is very nice since parking is a bit pricey on the street or the pay car parks. We had a very ample-sized room with lovely windows that faced The Mount. You could hear cars driving by a bit but nothing that should keep even a lighter sleeper awake. Mark, the proprietor, was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and just overall a very nice guy. You can tell he likes what he does and enjoys engaging with the guests. I ended up leaving a pair of dress shoes in the lobby when I left and he emailed me within an hour to see if they were mine. Unfortunately, I didn't check my email fast enough and we were back home in Nottingham by the time I realized, but Mark kindly agreed to post them back to me. Thanks Mark!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#3 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton House

Property: Carlton House
Address: 134 The Mount, York YO24 1AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Visit York Tourism Awards for Excellence 2008 & 2014 Guest House of the Year. Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013. Carlton House is a lovingly restored 1830s Georgian Townhouse combining original features with modern amenities creating an elegant yet contemporary feel. Situated on the tree lined Mount gateway to the historic City of York. Enjoy an English breakfast made with locally sourced produce after your peacefull nights sleep.. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carlton House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing