We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of Carlton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton House
Ranked #6 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed in the Carlton House for two nights and as usual I was well looked after. The room was well aired which made it very comfortable in the hot weather and as usual it was very clean. The breakfast was well cooked and plentiful which gave me a good start to the day ahead. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Postalhistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonHouseYork, Owner at Carlton House, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you Alan much obliged...Look forward to seeing you again in January 2014..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

894 - 900 of 1,489 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked this based on other Trip Advisor reviews and it was great! Very clean, organized and well run. The family room for 5 had plenty of room and surprisingly spacious for Uk rooms. Breakfast had everything you could possibly want. Short walk into town. York was a lovely place to visit and if we return I would stay here again. Nice and quiet and comfy beds. Thank you for providing a lovely place to stay.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Travelleurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed over night at the Carlton House to celebrate his birthday. We were recommended to it by family who have enjoyed the experience of staying.
We were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome. We were well informed of where to go, eat etc. We ate at the Ming with was excellent! Would highly recommend!!
Our room at the Carlton was comfortable and clean as well as spacious! The breakfast the next morning was scummy and the service was at its best! We could have had better!!
The overall atmosphere was relaxed and friendly.
I can't wait to visit again with our children.
See you soon Carlton house!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmr550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed two nights at Carlton House in a family room (3 kids under 10). The kids loved the bunk beds. The location is ideal within walking distance of the walled city. The parking was much appreciated too. The staff is very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A lovely stay at a very well kept and beautifully converted Georgian townhouse. We really enjoyed our stay in our comfortable, clean and modern furnished room. We arrived at the location early, which was no problem, we were warmly welcomed and our bags were even taken to our room! The owners were helpful, friendly, hospitable and offered excellent local insight into the city itself. Breakfast was very good, excellent choice in the cold buffet and a delicious choice of hot breakfast options.

The location is very good, only a relatively short walk from the station (about 10 minutes, or so) and the access to the city makes this a good choice for exploring York. We would, certainly, return here in the future if we were to visit York again (seems a good place for Christmas shopping) and would recommend Carlton House to other travellers. Many Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed for three nights as a couple in room 14 which is at the top of this beautiful Georgian town-house. We did not know we were on the top floor. Room is described as a twin, but has a small double and a single separated by post. The bed was far from comfortable and as we were on the front if you kept the window open overnight there was a lot of noise from the traffic.The wardrobe was missing door handles, and the shower cubicle was on the small side. On the positive side,Tea, coffee well stocked (inc biscuits), towels changed daily and room clean. The house is ideally situated for a short walk to reach York wall, passing a number of eateries and pubs.
Breakfast, cooked and buffet both excellent, staff polite and helpful even when busy.

Room Tip: I am guessing other rooms are better reading the other reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonHouseYork, Owner at Carlton House, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write such an in-depth review of your stay and thank you for your positive comments.
I am sorry you were disappointed with your experience and are quite amazed that one persons view of the same room can differ so much. The previous reviewer ‘Fantastic Guest House’ stayed in room 14 and with past experience we find hotel/b&b owners more critical of each others accommodation than the average guest.
To clarify a few points you booked via a 3rd party and the room information if read, clearly stated ‘3RD FLOOR en-suite twin room with double and single bed’ had you booked direct we would have informed you of the fact verbally.
I was very concerned to read your comments regarding the bed, particularly as all of our mattresses have recently been replaced, but I realise that personal preferences do vary.
Had you mentioned you weren’t happy with the room there was a possibility you could have changed but not a mention during several conversations we had with you and again at check-out, yet you’re quite happy to have a moan for the world to see on Tripadvisor.

I would not want other readers to be mis-led about the standard of our accommodation and would like to point out the M&S wardrobe comes without handles (they weren’t missing) and the ‘small double bed’ and shower cubicle are standard size and not purposely made on the small side..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

As a Guest House owner myself I can honestly say that Carlton House is a fantastic
place to stay.
Mark gave my son and I a very friendly welcome and offered us lots of useful advice and information, Our room was very clean and well presented with all the extras to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable.
The breakfast was very good and plentiful with a large selection of choice,
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, I could go on.
All in all excellent place to stay.
Thank you Mark & Melanie.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonHouseYork, Owner at Carlton House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our bed & breakfast - myself and our team are delighted you both enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#14 of 194 in York
370 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
0.8 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#10 of 194 in York
892 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple House Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton House

Address: 134 The Mount, York YO24 1AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $112 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Visit York Tourism Awards for Excellence 2008 & 2014 Guest House of the Year. Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013. Carlton House is a lovingly restored 1830s Georgian Townhouse combining original features with modern amenities creating an elegant yet contemporary feel. Situated on the tree lined Mount gateway to the historic City of York. Enjoy an English breakfast made with locally sourced produce after your peacefull nights sleep.. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carlton House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing