We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect, couldn't fault it in any way.”
Review of Carlton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton House
Ranked #9 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Simply perfect, couldn't fault it in any way.”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a brilliant 4 might stay at Carlton House, everywhere was spotless and very beautifully decorated, staff were so lovely too. Our family room was spacious, plenty of room for the 4 of us to have our own space. Breakfast was great, loads choose from and the Yorkshire breakfast was cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWoodburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonHouseYork, Owner at Carlton House, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for such a complimantary review, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    192
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
261
786
33
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend and what a gem of a place Carlton House is. The room was spotless and despite being a full house we didn't hear a peep from any of our neighbours. It really is on the doorstep of York city centre with an excellent choice of restaurants to satisfy any preference. On the subject of food, the breakfast really lived up to expectation...the local produce used made all the difference and probably the best cooked poached eggs I've ever had! Thanks so much for your hospitality Mark and Melanie. We'll definitely be recommending you to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missychelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonHouseYork, Owner at Carlton House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you Michelle for taking time to write such a glowing Tripadvisor review..
Youre kind comments are most appreciated, its fantastic to read we made your stay a memorable one...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We just stayed for one night for a short weekend break. On arrival we were greeted at the door and booking un was quick and easy, as well as a brilliant restaurant recommendation that was also booked for us by the staff that greeted us! The restaurant was lovely.
We were provided with a map of York by the hotel staff, which was really useful for finding our way round. All in all our stay was exactly what we wanted, except for the tv in the bedroom not working, but that didnt bother us much at all. The room was perhaps a little bit too warm as we were in the top floor but everything else was spit on. Thank you for a great stay and a hearty breakfast, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hger6416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonHouseYork, Owner at Carlton House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Carlton House and for your positive comments about your stay, however I feel its a shame you can only rate us 3/5 for value and rooms.
We've checked the tv and the thermostatic radiator control and they both seem to be working fine, a quick call to reception could have sorted your niggles while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Carlton House Hotel did everything to help us enjoy York. Very clean and well presented. Good value and very friendly service. Within a 5 min walk to the city wall and several places to eat. Staff were happy to offer information regarding local attractions. A private carpark makes parking the car stressless-an absolute must!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodboyharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2013

It is nice to find a hotel that can accommodate for a family of 5 at an affordable price with a made to order breakfast excellently cooked!
The service from the staff and hotel proprietors was very good and the room was clean, well stocked with refreshments and space for all.
The hotel location is within 10 mins walk of the city walls and this was convenient for all activities in the centre of York.
I would definitely stay again and it is nice to stay at a hotel which has a lovely welcome and a personal touch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny_Claire104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We love staying at the Carlon House; this was our sixth visit and assuredly not our last. The welcome is always friendly, and accommodation is really comfortable and clean.

The breakfast menu includes what you would expect, but is beautifully cooked using many locally sourced ingredients. Service is always friendly and helpful.

The hotel is conveniently placed on the way into York, near the racecourse, just ten minutes walk gets you into the city centre from the south, via Micklegate. The proprietor, Mark, is always ready to give ideas for places to visit and where to eat.

The car park is small but free and the owner is used to making best effect of the space so this is a real bonus with parking such a problem elsewhere in and around the city (where it's so expensive, or restricted to permit holders or otherwise difficult). For non-drivers it's not far from the railway centre and on several bus routes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethel_and_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We arrived in the worst of weather but were greeted by warm Yorkshire hospitality. The location is great - just a short walk from the center of York and the train station. The room was well equipped, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and the staff were just lovely! We would definitely recommend Carlton House to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabete2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.0 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 192 in York
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple House Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton House

Property: Carlton House
Address: 134 The Mount, York YO24 1AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Visit York Tourism Awards for Excellence 2008 & 2014 Guest House of the Year. Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013. Carlton House is a lovingly restored 1830s Georgian Townhouse combining original features with modern amenities creating an elegant yet contemporary feel. Situated on the tree lined Mount gateway to the historic City of York. Enjoy an English breakfast made with locally sourced produce after your peacefull nights sleep.. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carlton House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing