We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carlton House”
Review of Carlton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton House
Ranked #7 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is most likely the best Guest House I have ever stayed at.
It is beautifully kept and full of character.
The staff are friendly and the rooms are immaculately kept with many period features.
I would not hesitate to recommend Carlton House to anyone who is considering a stay in York.

Room Tip: Speak to the owners who are very helpful and will help you find the right room for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonHouseYork, Owner at Carlton House, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you Chris, if only you were the judge for the VisitYork tourism awards, the trophy would be in the bag. Many thanks for taking time to post your review, look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We found this B&B through Trip Advisor and rang direct for a discounted rate. This was fabulous especially as we were accommodated straight away even though we rang only a few hours before arriving. Initially we were only going to stay a night but on discovering a friendly, warm welcome, a gorgeous room and the centre of York only about a 10/15 minute walk away (with many restaurants and attractions even closer) we extended this to an extra night, and then another two. The room was clean, beautifully decorated and cosy; all staff were very helpful, accommodating and friendly. The breakfasts in the morning were fab & they recommended local restaurants, taxis etc as well as giving us a map. We ended up keeping the car in their car park and walking into York as it was so straightforward a route to most major sights/attractions. We'd thoroughly recommend a stay and hope to go back again ourselves.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoGiraffes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonHouseYork, Owner at Carlton House, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you so much for such a glowing review, its really lovely to read we helped make your stay a comfortable and memorable one..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A lovely attractive guest house in York, 5 minutes walk from the train station, 10 minutes in town. We stayed there, as a couple for 2 nights. The staff are very friendly and polite. The rooms are light and airy, nice and modern. A Big ensuite too. Breakfast was to die for. Would definitely stay here again, and will heartily recommend :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annio1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonHouseYork, Owner at Carlton House, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review Anne and especially for describing our breakfasts as 'to die for' glad you enjoyed our local Italian Lo Spuntino, were really lucky to have such a cracking restaurant on our doorstep.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here on 1st march for a birthday night away. We were warmly welcomed and impressed with the surroundings. Our room was immaculate and the bed was really comfy.breakfast was amazing we had the full English piping hot and locally sourced, although there was also fresh fruit and a large choice of cereals. The fresh coffee came in a cafe tier with as many fills as you wanted. Very friendly waitress service all impeccably dressed and professional . We would defiantly stay here again. A lovely walk into York city centre, thanks for letting us leave our car.....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connect G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonHouseYork, Owner at Carlton House, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review, youre kind words are most appreciated.
Look forward to maybe seeing you again in warmer months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at Carlton House in the middle of February at the start of The Viking Festival. The B&B is situated only a 5 minute walk from the city walls and there are a number of restaurants nearby. The building is impressive from the outside and is equally so inside. Our room was huge and very comfortable with some nice touches- bottled water and coffe and tea which was replenished every day. The room and b&b in general was spotless and breakfast really something to look forward to in the morning. We even requested goats milk for our little boy and this was no poblem to the staff there. The staff were all so friendly and recommended places we could go and eat and even provided us with a parking permit the morning we were leaving so that we could take a wander to the railway museum. Its probably a wee bit pricier than the places we usualy stay at (budget hotel chains) but I'm glad on this occassion that they were all booked up or we would never have found this gem of a place.. Thanks for a great break!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night last weekend and loved every minute. It is a beautiful house with lovely owners and staff and you are made to feel very welcome. Our room (15) was lovely, modern and cosy at the top of the house, not to mention spotlessly clean, and I would guess, judging by the rest of the house, that all the rooms would be to a similar standard. Location of the Guest House and breakfasts were also spot on.

My husband and I will definitely be back and we will be wholeheartedly recommending the house to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonHouseYork, Manager at Carlton House, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I treated my wife to a birthday weekend in York, which has fond memories from my Army days and my wife has always said she would like to go back and reminisce. Purely on Trip Adviser and the positive comments for Carlton House is the reason we chose this Hotel. From the moment we entered the hotel we both knew this was no ordinary tourist B & B. The couple who run the hotel are very professional, charming and nothing is too much trouble, they even parked my car for me. The room was modern, very very clean and spacious with all the necessary tea/coffee and bottled water. An added bonus is the free WIFI. Most establishments charge and is normally a bugbear going through the process, not with Carlton House a WIFI code was issued on arrival. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and a generous portion I must say. I nothing but praise for Carlton House and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royston J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonHouseYork, Owner at Carlton House, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your compliments about Carlton House and our service. I hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.0 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#9 of 194 in York
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton House

Address: 134 The Mount, York YO24 1AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $111 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Visit York Tourism Awards for Excellence 2008 & 2014 Guest House of the Year. Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013. Carlton House is a lovingly restored 1830s Georgian Townhouse combining original features with modern amenities creating an elegant yet contemporary feel. Situated on the tree lined Mount gateway to the historic City of York. Enjoy an English breakfast made with locally sourced produce after your peacefull nights sleep.. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carlton House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing