We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stayed in the hotel for 3 night. Nice location, free parking and accomodating staff. Though, they don't have free computers for guests use, they allow us to use their office computer during the evenings when the reception is less busy.

The rooms are very clean and spotless. The only complaint is our room has a very large beam that lays crosswise above our bed.

As for breakfast, their egg benedicts are very delicious. And they have a wide choice of breakfast to choose from.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

872 - 878 of 953 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2009

Like the majority of people reviewing this hotel, we too had a great stay. The room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was huge and we had an separate little room where to hang clothes and change. The only negative was that they really need to hover/vacuum the rafters to get rid of the cobwebs, which are to be expected especially in an old house. The staff was very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The pool (heated, btw, which is really important, imo) out back was utterly delightful and the restaurant looked lovely as well with its dining tables under a covered patio - unfortunately, we didn't have time to try it. The breakfast was very good. The eggs were perfectly cooked, the fruit was fresh and delicious and it was all served with attention and relative speed. I would happily stay here again and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We use hotels regularly due to our business. This hotel is faultless. We fail to understand how anyone could give this hotel a poor review. It was a last minute booking so we had a room at the front of the hotel, not the greatest location in the hotel and looked onto the main road. This was no problem whatsoever,. we had the window open and it was certainly not noisy as some other reviews suggest. It was a lovely room with a 4 poster bed and dressing room. The gardens and pool area are beautiful. Breakfast best we have had in a hotel, freshly cooked with plenty of selection. Would we return? most certainly and wouldn't consider any other hotel in York.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

My friend and I both have young children and decided to take a break away from them and from the daily drudge for a shopping/relaxation trip to York. We happened upon the Mount Royale reviews on TripAdvisor and we're so glad that we did.
We were shown to our lovely twin room with very comfortable and spacious beds and large fully equipped ensuite. Our doors opened up onto a little terrace and with the gardens beyond it felt like an oasis of calm. We went straight to the sauna and steam area which was deserted and spent a wonderful hour relaxing.
We decided to eat in the restaurant that night and the food (and service) was very good. My friend is a vegetarian and she found ample choices to satisfy her, rather than the standard "veggie lasagne"!
Breakfast was a real treat - I had Eggs Benedict with bacon which was scrummy!
The only disappointment was that we had to go home again! Will definitely be back!
Only small comment that I can add was that the carpark seems rather small for the number of rooms but having said that we didn't struggle on the day we were there.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The Priory Hote... a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

We stayed for one night on a trip to Yorkshire. Initially we thought £105 per night was a little expensive but with this including breakfast and parking worked out as reasonable compared to the Premier Inn down the road. The hotel was only a short walk to the city (about 10mins). We were pleasantly suprised to have our room upgraded to a suite which was extremely spacious, clean and well equipped. I can only imagine the normal rooms were of a similar high standard. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast delicious and plentiful. What more could one want?! Oh a heated outdoor swimming pool maybe - yes they have that and although we didnt actually use it, it looked very clean and sheltered.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarryB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

First review, I just felt I should pass on my experience of the Mount Royale. I'd read mixed reviews, but decided to take a punt, I wasn't disappointed. The hotel was gorgeous, not only the characterful, quirky interior but outside was something else. We got there and were shown to room 20, looking over the gardens. Apparently the actress Anna Faris had stayed in that room, which excited me more than my girlfriend! The receptionist on duty on the afternoon of June 1st was charming and couldn't have been more helpful. We decided, as the weather was incredible, to go straight to the (outdoor) pool. This turned out to be a fantastic decision, the pool was a delight, with sauna, steam room and hottub to boot, in a real sun trap. To get there you walk through the delightful gardens and discover the pool area at the bottom of the garden. The receptionist went to the trouble of getting plastic glasses so we could enjoy a G & T in the sunshine. We stayed at the pool for 5 hours and by the time I got back to the room felt like I'd been to Greece, with a tan to match. We decided to eat in the hotel, which was good value and OK, nothing extra special but I for the money plugged a hole. The wine was rather more expensive than the online price, my fault for not checking and just ordering the chablis. We then retired to the room with a free DVD from the library on reception. Breakfast the next day was an absolute cracker, the best I've had in any hotel anywhere in the world. Then back to the pool for a couple of hours and off to checkout. As you may have gathered I can't recommend the Mount Royale highly enough. On second thoughts, go somewhere else so I can get booked in next time!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dropclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

we stayed for two nights in this family hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Upgraded rooms were excellent value for money. Complimentary bubbly served in the swimming pool!Heavenly after long train journey. Breakfast was excellent . Lovely garden for town location. 10 mins walk into the centre of town and railway station.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babsanddickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
1 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,562 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royale Hotel & Spa

Address: 117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#8 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: $114 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royale Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade two listed William IV building with mature old English garden housing the heated swimming pool (open May to September). Sauna, steam room & hot tub (open all year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mount Royale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royale York
Hotel Mount Royale York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing