We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Royale Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

I'm very hard to please but I realy cannt give this hotel enough praise customer service , rooms food , the whole package would recommend fully we also had a few treatments heaven ! The hotel is a nice stroll away from the centre a little bit of heaven for a amazing weekend wish it was for a little longer . Well done.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Millii5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    181
    59
    12
    8
See reviews for
97
508
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night and we were delighted. We wanted a bit of luxury close to the city centre but away from the main hustle and bustle. It's only about a fifteen minute walk to the centre and a very lovely walk too. The hotel has everything you need for a bit if relaxing and pampering. The amenities are amazing; lovey grounds, great bar, hot tub, sauna and beauty facilities available. The restaurant looked so amazing, didn't manage to try this time but can't wait to go back, enjoy the menu and relax in the bar and grounds afterwards. It's great you can have room service of the same standard as the restaurant. Breakfast was incredible, they catered for my wheat allergy and the quality and selection was amazing. Fresh baked goods, a continental cheese board, cereals, fruits, cakes and a range of cooked items.

All the staff were very helpful and each contributed to making our stay very relaxing.

Can't wait to return! The suits are amazing, clean, very spacious and the beds are huge! Perfect romantic get away. The hotel is just the right size so everything is close by your room.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

We booked this hotel last minute to visit our daughter who lives in York. Very friendly staff greeted us at the door, excellent checking in. The room was large with 2 doubles and a sofa etc. yes, it's a little dated but so are a lot of hotels unless you're staying on a chain. We had no problems at all, apart from the depth of the bath but I am slightly disabled so just got on with it. The breakfast was lovely, excellent choice. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Parking is a bit limited so leave your car and walk into York if you are able.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kazzahughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

I booked last minute following a day at the races a few weeks before. First appearance thought it looked a little tiered....we had 2 night in room 22 upgraded as I mentioned on the booking.com when booking it was my 40th birthday. Staff were so lovely helpful and place was quiet. 10 min walk from York centre, free parking. We didn't use the spa as didn't have time. Breakfast was fantastic, cooked fresh. Overall fab stay fab staff and we loved that it was family run.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndsay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights last week and loved it. Staff friendly and helpful. Lovely big room and bathroom, yes not modern but but perfectly suited to the style of hotel and clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious and though restaurant was a tad expensive the food was amazing. Not your big ultra modern hotel but beautiful and quirky with lovely gardens, would definitely return if staying in York.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CJLScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

From beginning to end the service and personal attention was like a warm bath, the pool and pool area secluded and cute, the bar area fun and inviting. When relaxing in the bubble bath next to the pool, I was offered a glass of 'pink' by a staff member, it sounded like fun although I didn't know what she meant, but said yes anyway, and was handed a tall glass of pink champagne! What a lovely gesture! Our room was spacious, fantastic view of the gardens, and very clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Atck4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

How does this hotel get such good ratings? Firstly let me give you the pros - the food is good, the breakfast staff really great and the place is clean.

Now the cons - At best it's only a 3 star (due mainly to the food and public rooms). As for the accommodation - well it is in great need of an update. We stayed here 5 years ago and it wasn't great value then, but returned this year for a special family occasion. We chose an "Executive room" (room 11, £165pn) overlooking the garden, so that we wouldn't hear traffic noise from the main road at night. Well, our view of the garden was none existent, our "view" was the roof top of the extension and the marquee. Outside our window we had an old ugly fire escape footbridge running right across under our windows. You might think this a safety advantage, but it also runs across other bedrooms and then down into the garden and is accessible to anybody, meaning anybody could enter our room through the windows - and it was such a hot weekend that we needed the windows open!!

The bed is well worn, hard and uncomfortable. The pillows are hard - thank goodness we brought ours with us!

The furniture in the bedrooms is old and tired - not antique - just old, with fake attempts at ormolu etc. We had a large crack running across our wash basin and a hairline crack in the shower tray. The paint was peeling off the window ledge.

Our family had one of the garden suites (£210pn). We had stayed in one of these five years ago, and it was like déjà-vu. Nothing had changed at all even though it had been in need of renovating then. The veranda is not swept clean, the furniture is dirty with black mould, it is dark and dingy and it would not be a pleasant experience to sit out there even though the gardens are lovely.

For the room prices you should expect so much more. It has to be the worst hotel I had stayed in for many years. You can be an old and quirky building with a traditional style, but still offer modern, quality furnishings. It's time they invested some profits back into the accommodation. As a family we occupied five bedrooms and yet we all agree that this is the final time any of us intend to return to the Mount Royale.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter away from the traffic noise, but ask for one with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WorlTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.9 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royale Hotel & Spa

Property: Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Address: 117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#8 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royale Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade two listed William IV building with mature old English garden housing the heated swimming pool (open May to September). Sauna, steam room & hot tub (open all year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Mount Royale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royale York
Hotel Mount Royale York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing