We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Friendly place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights for a weekend break. On arrival we were welcomed by a friendly staff member on reception who showed us to our room. We stayed in a suite which was lovely and roomy and extremely clean. The decor is very traditional and this is how I like a hotel to be, so if you are after contemporary modern then this is not for you. Having an evening drink by the fire in a comfy armchair was heaven and made us feel very relaxed. The service from staff was excellent. We had breakfast in the morning and had a fresh cooked breakfast which is cooked when you order and is not from a dried up buffet which was so refreshing. We were served with hot tea and coffee and the atmosphere was more like staying in a good friends's house than a hotel.The staff waiting on us were very polite and welcoming which is just what you want. We have stayed in many hotels and this is one of the nicest we have been to. Sadly the restaurant was booked up so I cannot review that but I have no doubt it would be a lovely experience and when we return we will book the restaurant in good time! We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: I can't comment on the fitness centre or spa as we didn't use them. Book the restaurant in a...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shazzyb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

We are, as you mentioned, not to everyone’s taste, but with our listed building , antiques and quirky nature comes a warm and honest welcome, with genuine smiles and great desire by all staff to ensure all our guests have a most enjoyable stay. We look forward to your return visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (911)
There are newer reviews for Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 911 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here for work and this time for leisure. The Mount Royale always impresses.

This is a quirky hotel with bags of individual charm, something lacking around the country these days. Personal, friendly service from a fab team of staff is also a feature.

Our room was spacious and the bed very comfy. The highlight, however, is the breakfast! Don't go without sampling these award winners - definitely worth the trip alone!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank KerryL623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

We do like to feed our visitors and are therefore pleased to hear that you enjoy our award winning breakfasts. We look forward to you welcoming you back for many continued visits, either for business or pleasure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Have just come back from a two night stay. This hotel is a hidden gem! We were given a warm friendly welcome on arrival. We were then shown to our room with the offer to help with the bags. Not many hotels do that these days! We had chosen a garden room, and am I glad we did. Very spacious, huge comfortable bed, direct access in to the garden. Good selection of tea, coffee and our own dressing room with fridge and safety deposit box. We did not eat in the restaurant so cannot comment but my husband declared the breakfast was the best he had ever had, and he has stayed in numerous hotels. Excellent choice, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, juice, good variety for the cooked option. The breakfast serving staff very pleasant and nothing to much trouble. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here as a large family group on the weekend of my daughter's wedding in York. My daughter stayed in a garden suite, which had a beautiful view of the garden and plenty of room. All of our group were very happy with their rooms, which were nicely furnished and full of character. The breakfast was absolutely delicious! Perhaps the best thing about this hotel is the staff, who really went above and beyond for our group. From the moment we arrived, the staff made us all feel very welcome and couldn't do enough to make our stay special. We would highly recommend this hotel, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here with my wife and was very impressed. We had an executive room, which was very spacious and full of character. It was however very hot, with no apparent way to turn the heating down, which meant sleeping with the windows open, which seems a little wasteful and lets in quite a bit of road noise.

The staff were extremely helpful & friendly, and the breakfasts were amazing, probably the best hotel breakfast I've ever had.

The hotel grounds look like they'll be lovely when they are in bloom, and the hot tub hidden away towards the back of the garden is a nice touch.

Whilst the hotel isn't the most luxurious in the world (there's the odd bit that could do with a lick of fresh paint, for example) the character and charm of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff more than make up for this. We had a wonderful stay and I would gladly stay here next time we visit York.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank qwerty200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed here as a family group just after Christmas and there was still plenty of the festive spirit in this establishment. The welcome from staff and the owners was very friendly and people seemed capable of turning their hands to any task asked of them. This is one of the few occasions when I have checked into a hotel and had immediately wished that I had booked for longer. The room we enjoyed was very generously sized as was the bathroom. The breakfast was excellent and well served. I would not hesitate to re-visit this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bimco63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Having stayed at the Mount Royal on business in the past I knew exactly which hotel to book for a family weekend away in York. We finally had time to use the steam room and hot tub! the rooms are all unique with a character of their own very well equipped Staff extremely friendly and willing to find ways to help.
Don't worry about eating for the rest of the day as the breakfasts are amazing, catering for all tastes!

Room Tip: The garden rooms are amazing with unique character
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

How nice you choose to come and see us again for pleasure instead of business, and so pleased to hear that you managed to enjoy our beautiful gardens with relaxing facilities. As always our breakfasts maintain there award winning status and hope with a more relaxed time being enjoyed you could sit a little longer to saviour there delighes. We look forward to welcoming you back for a business or pleasure stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
646 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royale Hotel & Spa

Address: 117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#8 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: $172 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royale Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade two listed William IV building with mature old English garden housing the heated swimming pool (open May to September). Sauna, steam room & hot tub (open all year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mount Royale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royale York
Hotel Mount Royale York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing