We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Special Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent a night here so that we could spend some time in the lovely City of York. It was perfect. We received a complimentary upgrade to room 20 which is beautiful and then spent the day in the outdoor pool and jacuzzi which was warm and welcoming. It has such a relaxing feel to the hotel and staff are so helpful and friendly. I had seen that the breakfast reviews were good and I was not disappointed. Fresh good quality food was served and then we took coffee out on the patio area. If you go to York then I would very much recommend that you stay at this hotel. Try something special.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellers700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback, we do try our best to provide a good service and is always nice to hear that our hard work is appreciated, and we hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (946)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 946 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Wonderful stay. Very welcoming, friendly staff nothing is too much trouble. Suite was beautiful and very comfortable. Breakfast and evening meal were delicious. Will definitely return again. Thank you for making our stay such an enjoyable one. (Shenton Stoke On Trent)

Room Tip: suites are very spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shenton2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

There are so many options on accommodation these days, we are delighted you came to stay with us and that your visit was most enjoyable with good food and good service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had a recent good weekend break at the Mount Royale Hotel. Room very spacious and clean. Staff more than helpful. Very central for touring York. I would recommend it as a good place to stay and value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean19602013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We do appreciate customer feedback, therefore many thanks for your lovely comments and hope you shall come and stay with us again at some time in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

yet another fantasic stay. this is all you need in one hotel book up and see for yourself cracking location approx 8 min walk from train station and 12 to town but rember you pass a lot of good pub for a drink into town nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgdxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments and repeat custom, and we are so pleased to hear that we continue to offer a wonderful place to stay. We hope to keep welcoming you back for many future visits

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Staff very helpful and friendly. Location is very good, you can just walk into the walled city of York. A very old world hotel with beautiful gardens. It has a lot of history and I would recommend it as a place to stay in York.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allymacklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for your comments and pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are family run independent hotel with a lot of warmth, character and beautiful Old English Gardens, which are a surprise to many, giving the feel of a Country House Hotel but yet within easy reach of the city with all its wonderful history and attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Mount Royale for one night. Well established and very, very friendly run establishment. The whole stay was outstanding, room beautiful, surroundings "utopia". A very personal approach to us and we were made to feel very special something you do not find nowadays with most Hotel chains. On arrival we were given a tour of the Hotel and the Gardens. The breakfast was braw and cooked to perfection. What can I say? looking forward to visiting again. Staff were very approachable and Christine Oxtoby made us feel as if she had known us for years, I was given a very beautiful cupcake at breakfast this morning to congratulate us on our engagement again a very personal touch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Many congratulations on your engagement and so pleased we were able to add that little extra touch to make your stay with us even more special. The Oxtoby family and staff aim to provide all our guests with a comfortable and relaxing stay, where customer care and satisfaction is our main priority and are delighted to hear that you experienced this service during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for hopefully a longer visit sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Some of the modern hotels could learn from this gem. It's very comfortable and welcoming, they have a restaurant called Oxo's where we enjoyed an excellent dinner and breakfast was just a delight. It's all run very well by the Oxtoby family and a great bunch of staff.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Your wonderful comments are very much appreciated and shall be relayed to all concerned. Being small and family owned we constantly strive to provide professional yet personal service and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,543 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royale Hotel & Spa

Address: 117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#8 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: $164 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royale Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade two listed William IV building with mature old English garden housing the heated swimming pool (open May to September). Sauna, steam room & hot tub (open all year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mount Royale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royale York
Hotel Mount Royale York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing