We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sweet trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Hetton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“sweet trip”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

yet another fantasic stay. this is all you need in one hotel book up and see for yourself cracking location approx 8 min walk from train station and 12 to town but rember you pass a lot of good pub for a drink into town nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgdxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and repeat custom, and we are so pleased to hear that we continue to offer a wonderful place to stay. We hope to keep welcoming you back for many future visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    201
    66
    12
    10
See reviews for
104
564
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Staff very helpful and friendly. Location is very good, you can just walk into the walled city of York. A very old world hotel with beautiful gardens. It has a lot of history and I would recommend it as a place to stay in York.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allymacklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments and pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are family run independent hotel with a lot of warmth, character and beautiful Old English Gardens, which are a surprise to many, giving the feel of a Country House Hotel but yet within easy reach of the city with all its wonderful history and attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Mount Royale for one night. Well established and very, very friendly run establishment. The whole stay was outstanding, room beautiful, surroundings "utopia". A very personal approach to us and we were made to feel very special something you do not find nowadays with most Hotel chains. On arrival we were given a tour of the Hotel and the Gardens. The breakfast was braw and cooked to perfection. What can I say? looking forward to visiting again. Staff were very approachable and Christine Oxtoby made us feel as if she had known us for years, I was given a very beautiful cupcake at breakfast this morning to congratulate us on our engagement again a very personal touch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Many congratulations on your engagement and so pleased we were able to add that little extra touch to make your stay with us even more special. The Oxtoby family and staff aim to provide all our guests with a comfortable and relaxing stay, where customer care and satisfaction is our main priority and are delighted to hear that you experienced this service during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for hopefully a longer visit sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Some of the modern hotels could learn from this gem. It's very comfortable and welcoming, they have a restaurant called Oxo's where we enjoyed an excellent dinner and breakfast was just a delight. It's all run very well by the Oxtoby family and a great bunch of staff.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Your wonderful comments are very much appreciated and shall be relayed to all concerned. Being small and family owned we constantly strive to provide professional yet personal service and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Mount Royale is a quirky little hotel set just a 15 minute walk from York city centre. Upon arriving we were greeted with what we expected, a hotel from the past.

Upon being shown to our room, a standard double, we were impressed with some of the features in the room but at the same time found some things a little strange. A beautiful ornate French bed which was a knock out sleep was lovely, some other bits and pieces of classical furniture made the room nice. The bathroom was not a favourite of mine but that might have something to do with my lack of headroom, being 6,7 I tend to struggle at most places so I won't hold this against the hotel. It seems that instead of redecorating rooms, hallways, reception rooms etc, the management have tried to add bits and pieces to short cut that. For example in a lovely classical room there is a random modern floor lamp that does not fit the taste of the room at all. I would rather the money been spent on a lick of paint or new floor boards in the stairs. You notice these random mis-matches of style all over the place, very strange.

The service we received while staying was of a very high quality, you really sense the good old fashioned manners of certain staff. Beautifully cleaned rooms by the maid. The waiter in the breakfast room was delightful and very easy to talk to making those beautiful breakfasts even more enjoyable.

We did use the pool and hot tub which were a nice little addition to an English hotel. We never ate at the restaurant, ordered from the bar, or used room service. We did use the TV in the room one night along with the DVD player which repeatedly froze. The Internet is the best I've ever used in a hotel simple password and you're away.

So in summary this is an old hotel that struggles to balance its characteristics with practicality. If they put the amount of effort into everything that they put into their beautiful breakfasts then this could easily be up there as one of the top places to stay in York.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrLowndes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are an independent, 'quirky' hotel, but very individual and full of character. Being a listed building dating back to the 1830's maintenance, as I am sure you can appreciate, is an ongoing task .Thank you for your constructive comments as we do appreciated customer feed back in order for us to move forward and continue to make our guests stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. We hope you do come back and stay with us again and make the most of the outdoor facilities in our lovely Old English Country Garden and possible dine in our beautiful Oxo's Restaurant with freshly prepared local produce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

As 90% of British 3 or 4 star Hotels are outdated, this charming hotel still meets the right level.
Friendly staff helping with the luggage.
We did not eat in the restaurant but the breakfast was one of the best ever.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, under the roof. Small stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are very proud of our freshly cooked breakfasts with a menu choice to tempt all tastes and appetites, and have achieved a breakfast award for many years, so we are very pleased to hear that we did not disappoint. Many thanks for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back when hopefully you shall also enjoy the tempting delights of our beautiful Oxo's Restautrant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Mount Royale in York on 2 and 3 August 2013. This is a family run independent, historically interesting hotel with lovely gardens and pool/sauna which is close to York centre. We arrived at 9 p.m. and ate in the Oxo restaurant. The food was fantastic and we would highly recommend this restaurant. We understand that the restaurant has recently been taken in-house and our experience suggests this change of ownership was for the better. Brilliant! The hotel was excellent too. As other reviewers have said, this is a genuinely welcoming and helpful hotel, rare in this world of hotel chains. This is the place to stay in York!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmd6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are, as you mentioned, a small family owned hotel, independent from the large chain hotels and our aim is to provide a professional yet personal service with customer care and satisfaction our main priority and that of all our staff and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Due to many repeat guests voicing their desire for us to take back control of the restaurant, as we had many years ago, we have recently relaunched Oxo's Restaurant and it is proving to be a great success, providing fresh local produce in a menu to tempt all taste buds. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
633 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,263 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royale Hotel & Spa

Property: Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Address: 117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#8 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royale Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade two listed William IV building with mature old English garden housing the heated swimming pool (open May to September). Sauna, steam room & hot tub (open all year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mount Royale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royale York
Hotel Mount Royale York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing