We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing authentic Italian food, wonderful atmosphere”

Il Paradiso del Cibo
Ranked #46 of 879 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $52
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Real and authentic italian food with strong sardinian influence.Good selection of home-made fresh pasta , regional italian dishes, fantastic pizzas cooked in a real wood burn pizza oven .large screen tv featuring all the major european leagues games live.Original wine list with all the best sardinian wines at great prices.
Tadcaster
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing authentic Italian food, wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had the most amazing meal last night. I have had great Italian food in Italy but it's never as good here in England. This was the exception. We used to come here when it was a simple sandwich shop selling the best sandwiches I had ever had, and recognised the lovely owner who greeted us at the door. Now it's a fantastic restaurant selling the most fantastic Italian food I have ever had outside of Italy (and possibly within Italy). Definitely my favourite restaurant now and can't wait to return. The prices are reasonable, the staff are warm and friendly, the atmosphere is great and the food is just exceptional!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouParkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    776
    160
    54
    30
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic and Welcoming”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have visited Il Paradiso on two occasions, one with family/friends and another as part of a couple and I can safely say that both times there was nothing to fault at all. It is quite a small restaurant, but this only gives it more of a personal feel. The food is delicious, the staff very friendly and welcoming and the prices very reasonable. Definitely somewhere to book beforehand and well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PollyJYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

After speding three days dining at different restaurants in York and felling that the food was as pretentious as the prices, we finally went to Il Paradiso. The taster menu was absolutely incredible, with 8 different dishes, from the best antipati, to the most amazing beef from Piemonte. The staff is most friendly and Paolo will bring the authentic Sardinian food to your table. It was a stark contrast with the pretentious and pricey restaurants we went before. Thanks!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Rainy day suprise”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We managed to book a table with only 24 hours notice, but I'd advise booking earlier. We had a very warm welcome and excellent service throughout which was relaxed and friendly. The food was excellent and authentic - beautiful fresh products. I'd certainly recommend the specials board, the Lobster was delicious. The specials are a bit more expensive but the regular menu is very reasonable with plenty of choice. This will certainly become a regular favourite.

Helpful?
Thank Charleyandwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Italian Restaurant Excellence - We Loved It !”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

If you love authentic Italian food in an informal atmosphere run by an Italian family , who care passionately then you will love this ristorante .As soon as we approached buona sera was our greeting & as soon as we stepped inside we knew it would be good !

Everything about our meal was excellent .We had friendly , informative & attentive service by various waiters / waitresses throughout the night . The menu choice is varied supported by a specials board - we dined off both & thought the food quality superb .Also suits all budgets .Excellent Italian Wine List .

We booked a couple of weeks in advance , having read the Telegraph article , & expecting it to be busy , & it certainly was . However everything was spot on - a rarity these days . The seating is tight , but this gave a really lively cosy atmosphere .We thoroughly enjoyed & would return without hesitation .

Italian ristorante eccellenza !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Paradiso del Cibo also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Il Paradiso del Cibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing