We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the place!”

Il Paradiso del Cibo
Ranked #42 of 874 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $51
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Real and authentic italian food with strong sardinian influence.Good selection of home-made fresh pasta , regional italian dishes, fantastic pizzas cooked in a real wood burn pizza oven .large screen tv featuring all the major european leagues games live.Original wine list with all the best sardinian wines at great prices.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Love the place!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This little restaurant is amazing.
It doesn’t look much from the outside, but, boy! Does it make up for it on the inside with the food and the atmosphere!
It really is the sort of place that many might walk straight by, but step inside and you are in for a real treat; really lovely food and simple style creating a relaxed and homely atmosphere.
We spent a weekend in York for a treat, 12/14thJanuary, and we ate here both on Saturday lunchtime, and again, on Monday lunchtime. On the weekdays, you get the benefit of any pizza or pasta and any drink for less than £7 pounds each. The pizzas are on the menu at £7.50 and the wine at around £3 a glass.
One of those really nice places that you just want to go back to, again and again…..

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AntlerDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    160
    51
    29
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aintree
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“THOUGHT I WAS IN FIRENZE”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

i felt as though i'd been magically transported to firenze. this was initially our 2nd choice but the "best italian restaurant" was closed (wednesday). we were sooo lucky to get a table in this real italian restaurant serving real italian food, cooked & served by real italians. many of the clientele were also italian !! - that says it all. loved it so much we booked again for the 2nd night of our two night stay in york. don't forget to book & take cash.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crazy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Went here on a Saturday night.Had a very pleasant night.Probably the busiest restaurant i have seen in a while.Good choice on menu.Don't be fooled by the basic look of the place from outside.It was like being in a family restaurant in their dining room!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikdodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agde, France
Level Contributor
140 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Stunning food - REAL Italian menu”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Booked for 3 on a Saturday lunchtime. Seating was a bit cramped, but service was good and the food absolutely outstanding. Real Italian cuisine, cooked to perfection. Prices extremely reasonable for the quality of the food. Would recommend this to anyone.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The absolute best Italian food I have ever feasted on!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Don't expect a beautiful restaurant in a picturesque setting, but what you can be assured of is you will be welcomed by a staff made up of family members--mama is in the kitchen and she will create for you the best, most incredible food you will ever feast on. A recent visit to York to visit my family who lives there is how I was introduced to Il Paradiso. You can trust the locals!! We returned to the restaurant several times during my stay and each visit was perfection. I will be returning in July and my taste buds will be ready for another superb treat. My thanks to the entire staff for welcoming us each visit as though we were family and for making certain that each visit (including New Years Eve) was memorable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank littlelulu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Paradiso del Cibo also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Il Paradiso del Cibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing