We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Wonderful quiet place, just what we needed.”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travelers have booked this property
Curlew Cottage Interior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Curlew Cottage Interior
Curlew Cottage Interior Curlew Cottage  good quality furniture and kitchen equipment.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
28 reviews
Curlew Cottage Interior
Curlew Cottage Interior
Curlew Cottage  good quality furniture and kitchen equipment.
Curlew open plan, dining,living, kitchen area.Lovely and light with original beams !
Curlew Cottage,kingsize bed ,which can be made up as twin beds if you prefer.
Curlew , great bath with good powerful shower above,underfloor heating  safety grips
A Warm Welcome to greet all my guests.The cottages  have everything you need to have a great break !
Thorganby Farm House B&B
Thorganby Farm House B&B + Cottages Garden
Thorganby Farm House - My lovely flock of Jacob sheep
Curlew cottage  enclosed patio gardens.Patio furniture and bar-b-que.Private and safe.
Large lawn area with open views towards the Wolds outside both cottages with full sun all day.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
garn01
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing, did not live up to other Tripadvisor reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The cottage was one of two, formed from a barn conversion. The bedroom was only basically fitted out with a tile floor, and had little appeal. The spare pillows did not have pillowcases and the pillows provided were very flat. Towels in the bathroom seemed old and rough, with only one large bathroom towel and one smaller towel. The bathroom was designed for disabled people (which was fine) but with no shower curtain, water went over the entire bathroom so you could not have a towel or bath mat in the room. Even the toilet paper got wet if you left it in the bathroom. The kitchen was new and fitted out well but the sink and stovetop could have been cleaner. The electricity meter was not an issue and lasted for the 3 nights we were there. The main living room was comfortable and wifi good.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Good wifi reception
Liked least: The hassle with the bathroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2014
I was surprised and upset to read the comments in this review.To date I have received very positive feedback from my guests.I take pride in the quality of my cottages and my commitment to my guests.I live on site and have an open door policy,I wished that I had been approached so that I could have tried to deal with any issues they had.I believe and previous customers have confirmed that the bedroom is attractive,with open beams ,quality furniture and bedlinen.The floor is tiled but with oriental rugs which give a clean and bright finish to the room.I have taken on board your comments about the Wetroom (bathroom) thankyou.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMcCarthy...
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful quiet place, just what we needed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Arrived at Thorganby Farm Cottages and was greeted by Judy and her two friendly funny dogs, She showed us to our barn conversion and it was really nice, with a yummy cake in the kitchen ready to be eaten! It was a lovely barn conversion – “the Celandine Cottage” with an open kitchen/diner, bedroom and bathroom, it was so homely and with everything you could want. A nice outdoor setting where we had our breakfast listening to the birds and ‘rooster’. The setting of the farm is a couple of miles out of Thorganby which suited us fine as my partner had just arrived from Australia and so a few days of peace of quiet was on the books to get over the jet lag (& catch up on the goss!) so it was absolutely perfect. There are a lot of places of interest to visit by Thorganby Farm Cottages so it’s in a very convenient location. York is wonderful, in fact the whole of Yorkshire is wonderful! There is a park and ride not too far away (Judy gave us instructions of how to get there), free parking and the bus into York is cheap, well worth it. We just can’t wait to go back again on our next visit to England. We could have stayed there forever actually. Thank you Judy for a very welcoming stay.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: In the country
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2014
I was very pleased to know that you had a really great time at Thorganby farm cottages,it is a special place.Glad that you made use of the park and ride and had a good look around York and Yorkshire in general.
Hope all is well in Aussie many thanks .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny M
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ist Class Accommodation in lovely location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My husband and I had a very relaxing break in this well maintained and spotlessly clean cottage. The owner, Judy, was very friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed the company of her dogs too.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The gardens
Liked least: The kitchen area was well equipped but slightly small
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2014
I am so pleased that you had a relaxing time and getting out and about in York.I take pride in my cottages and it is great to know that it is appreciated,thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry W
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, Relaxing and Freindly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The cottage was clean and very well equipped and a warming log burner, like a home from home and only a short drive or bus ride to all the major attractions of York and surrounding areas.
Judy the owner (and her two lovely dogs) was welcoming and very friendly.

The gardens are well maintained with beautiful flowers, shrubs and lawn The surrounding fields have horses and sheep.

In the local village there are a couple of great pubs that serve good food, wines and real ales and a small Cost Cutter shop that sell all your essentials - food, beer ect.

If you want a totally quiet and relaxing break in a great location with easy access to historical sites of York this is the place to be.

We shall definitely be returning later on in the year to recharge our batteries

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Quietness and out of the rat race.
Liked least: The cockrel and having to leave.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2014
Glad that you felt like your visit was home from home,and that you found the cottage well equipped.All the major attractions of York and surrounding areas are close by so it was great to know that you managed to do so much,thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samson197...
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful, calm and well equipped”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

A perfect spot for our short Easter break with two young children (4 and 6 years old). A very peaceful spot with a lovely pub which welcomes kids nearby and plenty of space for them to run around in. 20 minutes in to York where we spent the most time exploring. The property itself was warm and cosy and had everything we required in it when we arrived (including some Easter treats from the owner).

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Space for kids to run in and peaceful setting
Liked least: Wet room style shower - cold toes!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2014
So glad that all the party enjoyed themselves and visiting York,thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isleworth, United Kingdom
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The Peace and Quite
Liked least: Leaving it all behind
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2014
Nice to know that you enjoyed the peace and the animals,thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Beautiful location
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments it is always rewarding to have encouragement.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing