We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”
Review of York Minster

York Minster
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.39*
and up
York Walking Tour including York Minster
More Info
$50.27*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
More Info
$694.54*
and up
5-Day Heart of England Tour from London: North Wales, Stratford-upon-Avon...
Ranked #4 of 205 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dating back to medieval times, this splendid Church of England cathedral features magnificent 14th- and 15th-century stained glass, stonework and elaborate tombs.
Newport, Isle of Wight
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The fee to walk round the interior was far too much at £10 each (£9 seniors). We would have willingly paid half the amount. Very few people appeared to be entering. Very disappointed as our previous visit had been when the Rose window was being renovated and we were looking forward to seeing this. Cathedrals cost huge amounts in upkeep but perhaps more income would be generated by lowering the cost to view a place of worship.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,346
    2,253
    722
    292
    217
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place to go to church!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Cathedrals all seem to be very touristy - so many people walking and gawking (like me) but it was great - to have a time on the hour when we were asked to stop and say a prayer, just a reminder of where we were - and it was also very nice to have the opportunity to attend a service. Amazing architecture - a wonder how they ever built it in the days it was built, permeated with history - but at the root - a place of worship!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Beautiful, historic church. Well worth a visit.”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I could have spent hours wandering through York Minster, admiring the stained glass windows and reading about the history. I didn't take one of the tours, but I did overhear some of the guides giving their presentations and they sounded extremely knowledgeable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank InfrequentFlyer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Would loved to go in - but overpriced”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We only went inside the door, as they charge, what we think is very over priced. We visited Chichester Cathedral recently, which was free and you just gave a contribution. They collected more with this idea.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank WhiteHorse50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“" one of England's best"”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

An amazing cathedral and my personnel favorite, York Minster never fails to impress. Its been a few years since my last visit, and although restoration work was being done on the magnificent East window, you were able to get a close up view of some of the restored panel through a new exhibit. Its amazing to see these ancient panes up close and appreciate the craftsmanship that went into them. Also the Undercroft Exhibit of the Roman remains that were unearthed during the work to stabilize the Minster was fascinating. Sorry for my bias, but when you add the surroundings of the city into the equation, this makes it the best cathedral in England in my view. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kpgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed York Minster also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Minster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing