We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny”
Review of York Minster

York Minster
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$24.90*
and up
York Walking Tour including York Minster
Ranked #4 of 204 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dating back to medieval times, this splendid Church of England cathedral features magnificent 14th- and 15th-century stained glass, stonework and elaborate tombs.
Norwich
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We visited with friends who had never been to york before so obviously top of the to do list was The Minster. Whilst to me it seems wrong to charge admission to a religious building, this was definitely good value for money and the tickets are valued for 12 months. The building is simply stunning and we found the interactive displays in the under croft very interesting. I know that they are really aimed at children but the inner child in all of us was brought out with the alternative type 'brass' rubbings, using building blocks to create an unsupported arch (yes it stayed up) and the dressing up corner.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,218
    2,208
    704
    285
    212
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Informative and impressive!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

York Minster is a stunning building and impressive in its size. The ongoing restoration projects are incorporated into informative and interactive educational projects in different areas of the building. Staff are helpful and friendly. The magnificent organ was being played during our visit which gave an added facet to the ambience and as we left, the bells were ringing!! As others have said, the cost would be prohibitive for many visitors. We were just that, visitors, and unlikely to be popping in on a regular basis over a twelve month period!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank annloubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We joined a tour, and the tour leader was excellent. She told us so much and pointed out things we would never have noticed. It was so interesting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MollyMac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Historic beauty with modern care.”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The size, beauty and obvious history of the site are overwhelmingly impressive. The architecture is a wonder as is the work of modern renovation. I like the cleanliness of the area. I am a keen observer of stained glass and find such joy in the Minster examples. It is a living, working place of worship which balances this well with being an historic site and tourist attraction. The gift shop has quality and tasteful gifts and is not too intrusive on the rest of the functions of the Minster.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank brianeustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Ridiculous price !”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I was really disappointed at £10 entry to have a look inside York Minster there is a further £5 charge if you want to do the tower as we'll. I am well aware that the upkeep of such a building must be astronomical but with the huge amount of visitors to York this is just plain greedy. I am not a rich girl making it impossible for me and my partner to visit the Minster. I wonder what God would think of this!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed York Minster also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Minster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing