We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic building”
Review of York Minster

York Minster
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.39*
and up
York Walking Tour including York Minster
More Info
$50.27*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
More Info
$694.54*
and up
5-Day Heart of England Tour from London: North Wales, Stratford-upon-Avon...
Ranked #4 of 205 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dating back to medieval times, this splendid Church of England cathedral features magnificent 14th- and 15th-century stained glass, stonework and elaborate tombs.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fantastic building”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

It never fails to amaze me how beautiful this building is.

A must see if you have not visited York before despite being bit expensive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,346
    2,253
    722
    292
    217
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Overpriced Entry Fee”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

£14.00 OAP per person is too much, The Vatican in Rome is far better value, have a rethink lots of people turned around and walked away when told the price.....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Oakfields15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good if you don't mind the price”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Ok, if I'm honest I really begrudged spending 20quid to go inside a cathedral (2 adults 1 child). Even with the massive £1 off concession still hurt. Yes it is very interesting and the history is great but 10 quid. Stick to walking around outside and pop your head in the door for the holiday phot. If the price was £5 more people would pay which would be greater than the extra £5 they are charging to make £10 based on the current amount of people. Sorry.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shouldt have to pay”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Cant believe how much it costs to go in here. Its a place of worship. Now i dont mind giving some money towards the upkeep of this magnificent building but to charge £10 per adult is disgusting.
Most churches and places of worship ask for a contribution which I think is a reasonable request.
If my family had paid it would ahve cost us £30.00 to have a look around a building that is meant to be for the people.
Even people sttod in the queue were not happy but felt they had to pay. we didnt we just turned around and walked out. Did we miss out? probably. My suggestion go when there is a service on and get in for free.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Suz822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Jaw-droppingly inspiring architecture, engineering and a work of art”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

#1 on any visit to York. Far nicer than Notre Dame or even St Peters to my mind. The stained glass windows and their history are simply extraordinary, The under-Minster archeological site and displays about the restoration work add another dimension to the visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed York Minster also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Minster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing