We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tour, average bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of York Brewery

York Brewery
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.98*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #13 of 200 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Established in May 1996 inside the historic Micklegate Bar Walls, York Brewery is both a traditional working brewery and a major tourist attraction providing customers locally and from around the country with the first real ales from within the walls of York for over 40 years. Come along and experience the traditional art of brewing within the historic city walls. We offer guided tours around the brewery offering an insight on how we produce our award-winning range of ales. Plus, make sure you visit the York Brewery Gift Shop before you leave for those last minute souvenirs and mementos. We stock an extensive range of exclusive York Brewery merchandise including our full range of bottled beers, gift sets, books and clothing.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tour, average bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Took some time to find the brewery on foot, Google maps has a couple of other locations for York Brewery, more signage and a proper pavement/pathway to the brewery itself would help. Also walking through the utility/rubbish area to get to the entrance doesn't help. Had a tour with Sam at 4ish, it was only the 2 of us as nobody else turned up, probably because it is too early in the day to drink (didn't stop us). The tour was interesting, Sam seemed to know everything we asked him you are given 4 tokens to spend at the bar when before or after your tour. The bar offered the 3 core beers and two seasonal beers. Our favourite was the Eboracum. The only problem I have was the seating area for the bar. The seats were damp and the room was very humid, probably because it was above the brewery. The toilets were also awful which is a shame because this could be easily fixed and the whole experience would be far better.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mboolash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    129
    18
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“York Brewery, a hidden gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant, the tour guide was informative and knowledgable. Good value for money (£8 per adult) as included was 4 "1/3 pints" so you could try different beers. Definitely good value for money, would highly recommend it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ZBP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Every time i go here, love it more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

York brewery offer a fantastic range of beers to drink in a unique bar . It is a relaxing and greta place to chat with friends , drinking one of the freshest beers I have ever tasted. The bar staff are great also . I recommend purchasing a years membership for £3 to save 10 % off your drinks , bottled take outs and merchandised. It truly is a great place ... Love it ..... No fee for the bar , but one for the tour ..

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nickh1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York B, Public Relations Manager at York Brewery, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks for the review, really glad you enjoy visiting us! For others reading though I'd like to mention that the £3 membership mentioned no longer exists. Due to a change in licensing we stopped issuing it back in August last year. Current membership rates are £18 for standard membership which entitles you to 10% discount at the brewery, and £50 for the gold membership package which, among other things, gets you 10% discount in the pubs also.

Thanks again for the brilliant review and I hope you come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Informative....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

.....tour and great beer. You can save 10% on the £8 price of admission if you purchase your tickets from York Tourist Information. This includes 4 one third sampler glasses.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pershore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent informative tour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have visited a few breweries and done a few tours but this was the best by a country mile.Neil our tour guide was both informative and funny he took us thru the whole process of brewing in a way that kept us all interested. It was obvious that he is really keen on the whole thing and that he really enjoys it.
After the tour we spent a good hour in the Brewery tap which is an ideal place to pass a rainy Saturday afternoon and sample York Brewery ale.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank manchie7Pershore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed York Brewery also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing