We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!”

Jorvik Viking Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.52*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #23 of 200 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Return of the Vikings – JORVIK Reopens 8th April 2017 The year is AD960 and the last Viking King in Jorvik, Eric Bloodaxe, has been banished. The city is thriving with a flourishing manufacturing centre and wide trading links. There are new buildings, new peoples and new stories to be told... The world-famous JORVIK Viking Centre will reopen on Saturday 8th April 2017 after a multi-million pound re-imagining following the devastating flooding in 2015. What’s New? •A New Ride experience with the sights, sounds and of course, smells, of the Viking-Age •Updated historical interpretation, showcasing the cultural ‘melting pot’ of 10th-century York •The latest cutting edge technology bringing the Viking period to life! Hop aboard our improved ride experience and be transported back in time over 1,000 years! You will discover the impact of international trade on Viking-Age York, including the evolution of a multicultural society in the city, as it’s not just trade goods that flowed into Jorvik but people from across the globe! Plus, with 22 new animatronics across the recreation there is something new to see around every corner. Our gallery experiences have been completely updated, with new display cases allowing you to get up close to the astounding Viking artefacts that inspired the creation of JORVIK. You will have the chance to dig deeper into the Viking story of York using the latest in cutting-edge technology located throughout the centre.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Preston, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

A fun history lesson! I have been to the Jorvik centre multiple times, in fact every time I come to York I visit here. Every time there is something new and exciting added to it! I love this attraction and honestly I think you can't come to York without coming here! There is so much to do inside and you can even get your own Viking coin! Would definitely visit again!

Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,249
    1,090
    759
    256
    142
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rip off! dont go!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Took 2 adults and 2 children at a cost of nearly £40.00. we were in there a maximum of half and hour!
Very small and very boring the ride is a joke too!
Took my son who is currently studying Vikings in year 4 primary, he said afterwards that it was so boring he nearly feel asleep on the ride! soon as you get into the electric cars your back off it again (about 10 mins) and thats ment to be the highlight!
Absolute rip off not even worth £3.00 each!
Staff great(the only thing)
Got given a years free pass to visit again for a year on paying, thanks but no thanks a refund would of been better!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wraggstar71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Really informative and great fun - not just for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The whole experience is really interesting and informative as well as great fun. The trip through Viking York was really good fun and whilst the smells are pretty rank they do bring the era to life.

I loved the interactive exhibits and the talking heads which were all interlinked. I would strongly recommend the whole experience to everyone although you need to read and actually play with the exhibits or you will get nothing out of the event. It is definitely an interactive and not a passive experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PurpleLime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
314 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We passed by late afternoon and there was no queue so we thought we'd go in as it was quiet.
The first room you enter is quite small and if busy I'd think you'd not gain as much from it. The visual and audio displays would be lost amongst crowds.
The ride on cart that takes you through a mock up of medieval York is quite entertaining and if you've children I'm sure this would appeal.
After the ride there are more exhibits and various video clips informing lightheartedly the trades of blacksmiths, carpenter, cobbler, etc.
The attraction is informative and you need to be prepared to read information to get the most out of it. If you're the sort of person who just likes visual info, then you might come out disappointed. We thought it is quite pricey but were interested enough to get our money's worth. Although rated average it is actually closer to very good.
In all, a must for discovering the history of York.

Helpful?
Thank Happy-To-Wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The young staff here are very friendly and pleasant. They take on their roll as Vikings with great enthusiasm and knowledge . When we visited there were problems with the ride. The young staff went to great lengths to keep the children, and adults, entertained while we waited for the ride to be fixed.

The ride is very well thought out and put together. We'll worth its admission fee.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jorvik Viking Centre also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Jorvik Viking Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing