We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shopping”
Review of Castle Howard

Castle Howard
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.07*
and up
Castle Howard Entrance Ticket
More Info
$61.52*
and up
North Yorkshire Moors and Castle Howard Day Tour From York
More Info
$51.59*
and up
Castle Howard, Rievaulx Abbey, and North York Moors Day Trip from York
Ranked #13 of 205 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Castle Howard is one of England's finest historic houses, set in a thousand acres of sweeping parkland dotted with statues, temples, lakes and fountains. Inside discover world-renowned collections gathered by succeeding generations of the Howard family. Built over 300 years ago, today it still remains a family home.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“shopping”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

lovely little shops, pity the sweet shop was being painted this morning so the doorway was blocked off!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,489
    613
    193
    77
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An idyllic place”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I recently visited Castle Howard with my family and we all had a wonderful day. There was lots to keep the children busy and all us adults thoroughly enjoyed the day too. the house is truly awesome and every angle you view it from you see something different. The staff were excellent especially those working in the house, they just seem to appear from nowhere and tell you fascinating snippets of information about the objects in the rooms. There are countless beautiful picnic spots to choose from and although the food in the courtyard cafe looked good it did seem rather expensive. The entrance fee may seem a little steep but is well worth it and if you look online its possible to get offers to get children in free with paying adults. One visit simply wasn't enough for us to explore all the grounds and we will most definitely be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cath L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“proms in the park with extra rain”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our first time so new to all of this English eccentricity. Despite the rain enjoyed the occasion. However, sound reproduction was not that good - needs to be improved. I got the impression that the organisers are now taking the audience for granted. Minimal detail on the event available beforehand. Compare a bit weak and very poor taste spitfire joke. Would go again if I knew it was not just a pay and go event.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank silverfocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and gargens”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Needed much more time than we had to see everything, in high season go early as ticket queues can be quite long. The entance, cafe/ restaurants and some shops here, is quite a walk from the house. They have a 'road train' which is free and good fun. The parts of the house open to the public are beautiful, staff everywhere to answer questions. Loved the little boat ride on the lake, lovely views of the house also cafe down there with outside terrace. Didn't go round the garden centre but it looked worth a look from what we could see from the outside.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank panda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Proms in the Park and the rain!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great concert in a picturesque setting ( we didn't actually look round Castle Howard just went to the event)
Well organised, we had a wheelchair user with us but were part of a large party so we did have a few problems as we couldn't all park together, but the wheelchair user and her carer were allowed to enter first and get a good and suitable spot. The disabled toilet facilities were backstage so she also got to meet The Overtones which was a real bonus!
The weather was awful but the concert was excellent, we had 4 children aged between 6 and 9 and they all loved it as well as the rest of our party aged between 30ish and nearly 70!
Would definitely go again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarahk8k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Howard also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Castle Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing