We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended, The Ashberry, York”
Review of The Ashberry B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ashberry B&B
Ranked #4 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommended, The Ashberry, York”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed four nights at the Ashberry on a recent trip to the UK. Our first impression of the room was how clean everything was and how well appointed, with everything we could possibly need. The free wifi was a big bonus, meaning we could keep in touch with folks back in South Africa.
Breakfast the next morning offered everything we could possibly want to eat, with fruit, yoghurt, a full English breakfast or just eggs and toast. The cutlery was of good quality and the marmalades, jams and even lemon curd were superb.
After a day of sightseeing it was a relief to return to our comfortable room, to have some tea and lovely biscuits.
There was ample hot water, the towels were thick and fluffy and the products supplied in the bathroom really high class.
We walked into town every day, but there are buses that stop just across the road from the Ashberry.
Sara and Steve were lovely and friendly, but never intrusive. We felt very at home in their B&B and would not hesitate to highly recommend it to any travellers looking for accomodation in York.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    34
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
61
204
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wissembourg, France
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

It was the second time I stayed at the ashberry (this time with my parents), and my stay was as good and perfect as the first time. Although my father used a wheelchair to cover longer distances, it was no problem to stay at Sara and Steve. There was a bus stop opposite the guesthouse, so it was easy to reach the center of York.

Sara and Steve are very warm, and welcoming people. They were really happy to help us. I stayed in a bright, clean and comfortable ensuite room (with tub) on the first floor whilst my parents enjoyed the opposite ensuite room (with shower) with garden view.
After exploring York, it was nice to come back in the evening to enjoy a peacefull night.

All what we may need was provided : soft towels, hair dryer, excellent toiletries, bottles of water, biscuits, tea and coffee ...... The rooms had plenty of storage, fitted wardrobes with hangers inside and chest with drawers ...... and more important for my parents, there was enough space to go around. My father enjoyed the delightfull english breakfast.

Merci Sara and Steve for this great stay. I will definitely stay here next time I'm in York.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danièle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RETFORD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Wev've just spent our 3rd visit at this lovely friendly B&B and yet again not disappointed Steve and Sara are like 2 old friends you just feel so relaxed with them we stayed in a different room this time it was beautiful so spotlessly clean but you would'nt expect anything else. Breakfast again was of a high quality as usual if you hav'nt stayed here before you don't no what your missing.
Mandy and Steve.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CASSIERETFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Excellent location, just outside the city walls
friendly hosts and very welcoming
marvellous breakfast
couldnt find fault. Its next to a fairly busy road - but ear plugs are provided! We didnt need them - just drink more wine!
family room great with 10&14 yr old, plenty of room
very clean throughout
Free wifi always a good touch

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poundyderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We spent 2 nights here as part of a 3 week tour around the UK. Sara and Steve were wonderful and attentive hosts, always available, but never interfering. The family room for 4 was smallish but well appointed and all 4 of us were very comfortable there. Breakfasts were well prepared and tasty. The Ashberry really isonly a short walk from the walls so we found the location to be very convenient. Thank you Steve and Sara.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at the Ashberry whilst visiting York for our friend's 40th birthday celebrations. The hotel had excellent reviews and the location was perfect for us.

Steve and Sara were so friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Our room (Rm 4) was excellently furnished with modern decor and furniture and was very spacious which is rare for a double B&B ensuite room. We had a flat screen TV, plenty of hanging space for our clothes, a large dressing table area and the best stocked hospitality tray I've ever come across in a B&B which included tea (both regular and fruit/herbal), coffee (both regular and decaf), large hot chocolate sachets, plenty of milk and sugar, and of course 2 packs of complimentary biscuits) . The bed was huge with modern bedding, runner and scatter cushions, and very comfortable.The room also contained a hairdryer.

The ensuite bathroom was huge and contained a shower, sink and toilet which were spotless and the shelves were well stocked with towels and toiletries.

The breakfast was excellent. To start with, there was a large selection of fruit, cereals, yoghurts, fresh muffins and fruit juices. We had fresh coffee brought to our table in a large cafetiere and plenty of toast. We then had a full English breakfast which consisted of bacon, sausage, egg, mushrooms, grilled tomato and beans, the food was delicious and gave us a good start to the day. Sara came over on a couple of occasions to offer extra toast and coffee, she was very attentive and a credit to York's hospitality trade.

A bonus for us was the free off-street parking which Steve sorted for us until our stay ended. This is very rare in York and was a selling point for us returning to the Ashberry in the future. The hotel is a short walking distance into the centre along a straight road which takes you directly to Micklegate. Unfortunately for us, we visited on a day with heavy rain. We went out in the evening but a taxi only cost us £4 into the City Centre.

The only downside we found which was of no fault to the hotel, was that as its based on a busy main road, we were awoken at 6am by cars travelling outside and the sound was very loud. However, the hotel did supply earplugs in the room for this reason and if I had realised how loud it was going to be, I would have put them in before going to bed.

All in all, I cannot rate this hotel enough and if you are lucky enough to stay here you will return - I guarantee it. The Ashberry is a definite jewel in York's crown and the prices were excellent for a 4 star accommodation.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the building for a quieter night's sleep. Otherwise use the earpl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifferf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Our children arranged our trip to York staying at the Ashberry for my 60th Birthday and it was an excellent choice. Sara & Steve bend over backwards to make our stay an enjoyable one. Even getting flowers and wine for our room from a friend as a surprise. The room was lovely and there was everything we could think of available for us. It is only a short walk to the wall and there are so many amenities available close by. Yes it is on a busy road but they even provided ear plugs (which we didn't need). The breakfast was A1. A big big thank you to you both and we will be telling all our friends about you, and will see you the next time we visit York

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashberry B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashberry B&B

Property: The Ashberry B&B
Address: 103 The Mount | York, York YO24 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashberry is a charming 4 star bed and breakfast accommodation in a Victorian townhouse close to York city centre, the racecourse and 10-15 mins walk from the railway station. Hosts Steve and Sara will give you a warm and friendly welcome to their home which is perfectly located within easy reach of all Yorks attractions. The Ashberry has 5 comfortable en-suite bedrooms all with flat screen freeview tv,s & free wifi ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ashberry Hotel York
The Ashberry Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing