We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place for a wonderful city”
Review of Elliotts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elliotts
Ranked #102 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Thanks to Maureen, Phil and all the staff for our great stay. Though this was my first stay, they made us feel at home. Very easy walk to the city center, York Minster and the river. Breakfast was just brilliant. Hope to get back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkM76180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maudybrown, Owner at Elliotts, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you Mark. It was lovely to meet you and hope we do so again in the future. Best wishes x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 203 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to York and stayed here again. Not disappointed !!! once again a warm welcome greeted us and to be honest will always use Elliotts on any further visit to the city.
Had room 2 on this occasion and found it spacious, king size bed and so comfortable and warm. On a cold February it was a pleasure to return and so very close to the centre with a 10 min walk. Great breakfast to start the day and the staff were so friendly. The National railway museum is a fantastic place to visit and free !!. Plenty of pubs for all ages and no shortage of places to eat. Another weekend gone and disappointed to leave. Thanks to everyone for making it again a lovely experience.

Room Tip: None, all beautifully decorated and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBHCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maudybrown, Owner at Elliotts, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you very much for your glowing review. Always a pleasure and we look forward to your next visit. Maureen x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Thanks you to Maureen and Phil for making our three night stay so enjoyable. We had a lovely large comfortable room, excellent breakfasts (thank you to Margaret and Sheila) and as ever the car park is such a bonus. We have no hesitation in recommending Elliott's.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maudybrown, Owner at Elliotts, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you so much. It was our pleasure and I will be sure to tell Margaret and Sheila. Look forward to seeing you again. Maureen x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel is very central to York city.

Car park available on site.

rooms very spacious, complete with good seating area (we had a leather sofa)

good price, for two people, out of season for the 2day , get one free, offer.

would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barkshire47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maudybrown, Owner at Elliotts, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have stayed at Elliotts a few times and always enjoy going back, out last stay was for just one night as a birthday treat and we were lucky to get in at the time as it is a very popular choice of hotel. We were greeted by Maureen and Phil who as usual were very welcoming and friendly nothing is too much trouble for them. Rooms are always clean and very comfortable, breakfast sets you up for the day,plenty of choice and served by lovely staff.
We are already of thinking about our next stay at Elliotts hopefully in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JG052014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maudybrown, Owner at Elliotts, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hi. Thank you very much for the lovely post. It is so rewarding when I read our reviews and see how people like you take the time to do this for us. Thanks again. Maureen x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

we have stayed in many nice hotels in york but for the last few years elliots has become our firm favourite! we have stayed here sevrel times it doesnt matter what time you arrive maureen and phil will be there with a warm welcome! we have stayed in sevrel rooms all of which have very large light and airy with evrything you could need for a comfortable stay the whole hotel is spotless top to bottom always ample secure well lit on site carparking a bonus in york you can choose almost anything you like for breakfast served by two most delightfull ladies maggs and sheila all in all its like staying with your favourite auntie! cant wait to return in a few weeks janet c

Room Tip: room one massive biggest bed youve ever seen 3 seater sofa and a single bed! what more could you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E2016YYjanetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maudybrown, Owner at Elliotts, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hi. Thank you so much for the most fantastic review, I am looking for forward to seeing you both again soon. X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We are grateful for the recommendation to this guest house. Upon arrival we were greeted at the front door by the owner Maureen and her husband Phil, who kindly helped us with our heavy luggage. The Victorian Terace is impressive with a variety of rooms. We were thrilled with our large, clean and well appointed room. The bed was enormous and very comfortable. The shower was a treat with high water pressure. The guest house is located just outside the city walls, a short stroll into the city via the museum gadens. We were treated with a delightful breakfast with a great choice and made with care. The experience was enhanced by the friendly attentive service - ( thanks Mary)
Maureen and Phil were available at any time to help with any questions.
Our only regret is that we couldn't take up the 3 night special offer as we only had 2 days free.
When we next visit we will take this special offer up :-)
And finally we appreciate the free Wi Fi, this is a bonus for overseas travellers with limited internet access.

Room Tip: We stayed in room one, I would recommend this room for the space and large bed and fantastic shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Docker707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maudybrown, Owner at Elliotts, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hello. I hope you are surviving your hot weather. Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a glowing review on Elliotts. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in our beautiful city. Maureen x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#13 of 194 in York
241 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sycamore Guest House
0.2 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#23 of 194 in York
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St. Raphael Guest House
0.0 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 194 in York
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#12 of 194 in York
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elliotts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliotts

Address: 2 Sycamore Place, York YO30 7DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $86 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned guest house only 5 minutes walk into the city centre. Free on-site car park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elliotts Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing